8GB Corsair RAM Experience

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by seong, Jul 18, 2011.

  1. seong, Jul 18, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2011

    seong macrumors 65816

    seong

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #1
    Here is the link to the product:
    http://www.amazon.co.jp/CORSAIR-1333MHz-2x204pin-Unbuffered-CMSO8GX3M2A1333C9/dp/B002YUF8ZG/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top

    I've been wondering if I should go for SSD or RAM upgrade (also considered on Momentus XT, but not quite yet.) SSD seemed too expensive for me, thus I'll be waiting for the price per GB to drop down by half. For Momentus XT, I've been worrying about the firmware upgrade/some issues, so I'm still deciding if I should buy it or not (and also considering that SSD prices will drop over time.)
    So, finally, I've decided that the best upgrade for myself is the 8GB of RAM upgrade. I was wondering if this particular RAM would work. Just wanted to double check with some experience users on this forum :) Also, will I see a speed bump, since I currently have 2GB (check my sig for more spec)? I use my computer mainly for school works, FinalCut Pro X&DVD production, Photoshop CS5, and Starcarft 2.

    Thanks in advance :D
     
  2. ReddDraggon macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Location:
    North Wales or Manchester
    #2
    I have that Corsair ram installed in my 2011 MBP and it's all fine and dandy, whether or not it would work ok in your 2009 I don't know, is the 2009 DDR3?
     
  3. seong thread starter macrumors 65816

    seong

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #3
    Gotta love this forum for insta-reply :p
    Thanks! I'm gonna order it to ship it to my place tomorrow morning :)
    Just wondering. When I order it from Amazon, it give me an option to enter a gift cards or promotional codes. Are there any out there that I can use?
     
  4. bryan85 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    #4
    Corsair is generally a good brand however, the speed you have in that link is incorrect. Your Mac is only going to work with the advertised speed. I would stick to that. Generally I only use Crucial, but that is my personal preference. I have also heard that OWC is good memory as well. You will see a big difference going from 2GB to 8GB of memory!

    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other%20World%20Computing/8566DDR3S8GP/

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820148276

    Additionally, if you are going to upgrade your HDD to a SSD you will see an ever bigger difference. For an SSD I would also trust OWC. They specifically make/test all of their products for the Mac.

    http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/SSD/OWC/
     
  5. seong thread starter macrumors 65816

    seong

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #5
    Haha, I really don't mind getting the lower speed compared to what I bought, because I'm not allowed to use any credit cards here in Japan, unless I ask my parents. However, they never allow online shopping for me, so what I do is go directly to the store and buy it with my own money. The thing is, I recently found out that Amazon Japan actually does Cost on Delievery for some products, so I'm just trying it out. I'll keep those link in my bookmark for future stuff :)
     
  6. Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    #6
    Hi,

    Sorry to hijack the orginal thread, but I'm in a similiar position.

    I have a MBP 2.26Ghz C2D, I think similiar to the OP. It originally came with 2GB of RAM, which i upgraded to 4GB, I'm now looking to move to 8GB, and was wondering if this would be alright: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Corsair-Mem...0A/ref=sr_1_12?ie=UTF8&qid=1310987550&sr=8-12

    I'm also looking to get a SSD, I'm looking for about 160GB, I heard intel ones are good, but this is a bit new to me, so I'm hopin for some advice. If you could give me amazon link it would be great, I have alot of vouchers which need to be used up soon.

    Thanks.
     
  7. seong thread starter macrumors 65816

    seong

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #7
    To answer your RAM question, yes, it looks good to me. It's just a difference from 1333MHz and 1066MHz, which will not make a huge difference in real world. I was planning to buy that, but Amazon Japan does not have that in stock :(

    For your SSD, I think this should work great for you:
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Intel-X25-V-SATA2-160GB-9-5MM/dp/B004TFXAUE/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1310987978&sr=8-2
    I would try to make another thread about the SSD, asking ppl how would this Intel X-25V will work with your Macbook Pro (I read some threads about it couple of months ago, and it seems as if it works fine with OP's computers.)
     
  8. ricky.patel89, Jul 18, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2011

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    #8
    Can I use the 1333Mhz in my MBP, but it will just run at 1066Mhz instead?, Also could someone give me a link to the correct RAM, I don't really want to end up with the wrong one.

    Thanks.
     
  9. seong thread starter macrumors 65816

    seong

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #10
    It will work fine. It's just that the RAM won't run on it's full potential, which is 1333MHz. You can still use it on 1066MHz.
     
  10. Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    #11
    I've read that it sometimes causes the sytem to be unstable and may crash?
     
  11. seong, Jul 18, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2011

    seong thread starter macrumors 65816

    seong

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #12
    Well, I haven't :) Regardless of what happens, I can't get anything that's 1067MHz, so I'll tell you what happens when I get the RAM itself.

    In the meantime, read the forums/discussions that I've searched up:
    https://discussions.apple.com/message/12792225?messageID=12792225#12792225?messageID=12792225 (seems to work fine with these people.)
    https://discussions.apple.com/message/10821129?messageID=10821129#10821129?messageID=10821129 (here you can see that the last person has some trouble with using it.)
    http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20110331150940AAM7kPv (not trustworthy, it's Yahoo Answer, but still, good to hear the good news :))
    http://www.mactalk.com.au/24/82168-those-asking-if-1333mhz-ram-will-work-macbook-pro-unibody-mid-09-models.html (here is a group of people who said that 1333MHz will be recognized and will work fine on Macbook Pro 13" mid-2009.)
     
  12. Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    #13
    Could anyone else quote on this, I'm looking to make the purchase this week.

    Thanks
     
  13. seong thread starter macrumors 65816

    seong

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #14
    If it was possible, I would do it, but I think we really need people on this forum who uses 1333MHz RAM on 1067MHz model to tell us if it work or not. I would definitely not trust people who say it doesn't work, but they actually don't own the machine nor the RAM itself.

    EDIT:
    I found a person upgrading his Macbook Pro 13" with 1333MHz 8GB RAM, the same model as what I'm planning to order.
    The model: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002YUF8ZG/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&tag=techd0d-20&linkCode=as2&camp=217145&creative=399349&creativeASIN=B002YUF8ZG
    Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wUU-hzgtFyI
    Video 2: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DUbT4kP2KSw
     
  14. seong, Jul 18, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2011

    seong thread starter macrumors 65816

    seong

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #15
    Bump. To anyone who have installed 1333MHz on 1067HMz machine, can they confirm that it works? Just wanted to check.

    EDIT:
    According to this thread, people say that the RAMs will be down clocked to 1067MHz, but it won't run at 1333MHz. I really don't mind this. As long as the RAMs will work, I'm fine.
     
  15. seong thread starter macrumors 65816

    seong

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #16
  16. Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    #17
    Thanks, I'll go ahead and make the order now.
     
  17. RedRaven571 macrumors 65816

    RedRaven571

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #18

    Dude, I'm no computer genius but if your system bus speed is 1067 and you put in 1333 RAM, I was always brought to understand the RAM will only operate at the system bus speed (i.e. - 1067). It will do no harm but it won't increase the bus speed of your whole computer.
     
  18. seong thread starter macrumors 65816

    seong

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #19
    Haha, just in the nick of time, I ordered it from Amazon Japan :) Costs extra $4 to ship it scheduled. I'll let you know ASAP when I receive it. I'll probably even do a video of it on Youtube. Hopefully we both get a good batch.
     
  19. fq360 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #20
    i have macbook pro 2011 and have just upgraded my ram to that exact model and spec works a charm and only cost 50 GBP.

    apple wanted £200 fro the same upgrade to 8GB
     
  20. seong thread starter macrumors 65816

    seong

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #21
    Haha, when I saw that I was like :confused:.....:eek:.....:mad:
    I know some people from my Apple Store well, and they "recommended" me to buy it from the third party if money is my concern. According to them, one of them being the Genius, Apple uses RAMs from Samsung, Hynix, and Corsair. I do not know if that's true, but still, I think £200 for 8GB of RAM is overpriced.
     
  21. ForeverG5 macrumors newbie

    ForeverG5

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #22
    I have that Corsair RAM in my 2009 13" MacBook Pro and it works great! I have a video on my YouTube channel of my installation if you want some proof that it works well :) But I'd definitely go for it! It's cheap and powerful
     
  22. seong thread starter macrumors 65816

    seong

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #23
    Wonderful! :) I'm fairly convinced that I'll stick with these RAMs :D
     
  23. seong thread starter macrumors 65816

    seong

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

Share This Page