8GB DDR2 in 20in 2.66 imac MB324LL/A

Discussion in 'iMac' started by maviso5, Feb 8, 2010.

  1. maviso5 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Kent
    #1
    Hi All,

    My friend has a 20 inch iMac (model MB324LL/A) and he has bought 2x4GB SO-DIMMS from cosair. He has put them in and the mac wont recognise them, however it will recognise and boot up with 6GB (using 1 old chip and 1 new one) and he has tried swapping the chips about to make sure one is not faulty.

    According to cruicial and Apple the max supported is 4GB but if it runs on 6GB can he get it to work on 8GB somehow?
     
  2. Yakuza macrumors 6502a

    Yakuza

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    #2
    Hardly, 6GB must be the max mem the iMac can take it. there's no way to force the iMac recognize the 8GB.
     
  3. maviso5 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Kent
    #3
    well according to apple 4 is the max, so if it works on 6 i was wondering why not 8?
     
  4. Yakuza macrumors 6502a

    Yakuza

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    #4
    If it's an early 2008 iMac the max memory will be the 6Gb. if it is an early 2009will be 8Gb. Which one of this two is?

    For what you have written, if you did put the 8gb but only adressed 6Gb probably it's an early 2008. the early 2009 iMac should adress the all 8Gb.
     
  5. maviso5 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Kent
    #5
    its not that it doesn't address it, but it doesn't boot up with the full 8GB
     
  6. Badger^2 macrumors 68000

    Badger^2

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #6
    Beacuse it wont?

    Im not sure I understand the issue?

    It can take 6 gigs ram, max.
    8 wont work. End of story.

    Not sure why you would want to drop $450 for ram in that old iMac... if hes doing something that is exceeding his 6 gigs of ram now then he really needs to look into upgrading.

    Might be able to get $700 for the iMac + Id sell 4 gig chip separate, $150? + $450 already spent for the Crucial ram = $1250 = new 21" iMac. Getting to 8 gigs of ram in that will only cost $100...
     

Share This Page