8GB DDR3 1600 Kit

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Dwalls90, Mar 1, 2011.

  1. Dwalls90 macrumors 601

    Dwalls90

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    #1
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820104230

    It IS compatible with the 2720QM and 2820QM (maybe lower CPU models but I didn't care to check). Benchmarks show that sandy bridge WILL run faster with a DDR3 1600 kit vs DDR3 1066 or DDR3 1333. From what I understand, DDR3 1333 is used in the MBP that ship .. does ANYONE know what the Cas Latency (CL) is? I would guess 7-8 ... hopefully it's not 9! Otherwise one might as well buy the RAM I linked above as it has the same CL but a higher frequency and is cheaper than Apple's 8Gb upgrade!
     
  2. karohan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    #2
    Even though benchmarks are higher for the higher frequency RAM, you'd notice little real life difference. You would likely notice slightly lower battery life though.
     
  3. imperialnavy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    #3
    I am interested in this too. Did anyone already try this out? Any usable results for performance and battery life ?
     
  4. Philming macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #4
    I got 8Gb straight from Crucial. It's probably CL9. Actually, I've looked all over the place and couldnt find any CL7 ram for PC-10600 anywhere. So I just thought i'd get whatever was available...
     
  5. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #5
    its normally ALWAYS CL9 with most mac laptops, i assume exactly the same in this instance.

    i would not recommend getting CL7 at this stage, because it is not readily tested yet. i know that with the SO-DIMM 2009 iMacs CL7 didnt work for some specific models.

    i wouldnt risk it.
     
  6. gtamega macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    #6
    Just tried this here on my brand new 2.2 15" 2011 Macbook Pro ,the HyperX works but in 1333 speed.I guess you need to pump up to 1600 in the Bios on a pc. So i used a Super Talent 1333 with a micron chip and also worked flawless.Saving the HiperX for the Alienware MX17 R3 on order.:D
     

Share This Page