8gb ddr3 but which brand

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by dutkutug, Apr 18, 2011.

1. dutkutug macrumors newbie

Hi everyone,

I am going to buy 13" i7 and upgrade the ram to 8gb by myself. There are plenty of brands that I come accross and I definetely need some advise from the experts and the upgraders. Which one should I follow: Kingston, Crucial, Corsair or else (needless to say yet said : pair of 4GB DDR3 1333, 9-9-9-24, 1.5V, 204pin). I am not an expert, however, I have heard that single sided or double sided did matter (rumors :D )
    Thanks in advance..

2. emiljan macrumors 6502

emiljan

Either crucial or owc brand memory works great and its cheap too.

3. eternlgladiator macrumors 68000

eternlgladiator

I vote for crucial. I got a free upgrade to 8GB with my laptop but they are who I would have chosen otherwise. I also used them for my first upgrade on another laptop. Very helpful and no issues. I really don't think you can go wrong with any of the brands listed in this thread so far.

4. Kentochan macrumors 6502

Kentochan

5. noogin macrumors newbie

+1 for the g.skill, works flawlessly with lifetime warranty! not 1600mhz, but hey, barely a difference in 1333mhz

6. dutkutug thread starter macrumors newbie

Forgive me for my ignorance but is OWC a brand like kingston or crucial?
    From its offical site 8gb costs $107.99, crucial costs around $89 (newegg) and kingston about $83. Now, I am confused. The difference is around 25 and I have no clue ragarding the compatibility with the early 2011 model mbp. I know I ask too many questions, but, does anyone know which brand is installed at the apple store ?

7. vincenz macrumors 601

vincenz

Yes, OWC is a "brand." As big as Kingston and Crucial though? No way.

I'd go with Crucial. Their RAM always seem to get 5-star reviews everywhere.

8. JH4DC5 macrumors member

i've been using the 8gb crucial kit in my 2011 mbp without any issues. that would be my recommendation