8GB Enough?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by supernet33, Aug 6, 2014.

  1. supernet33 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    #1
    Will 8GB be enough 4-5 years from now?
    I understand everyones use is different so I am asking for in general.
    I got the new rMBP with 8GB of ram however, I can exchange it..

    Thanks
     
  2. lokster macrumors 6502

    lokster

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    #2
    imo yeah 8gb should be more than enough. 4gb is actually still the market standard, and it doesnt seem like it needs more, unless you do heavy stuff like graphics, rendering or video editing
     
  3. glenthompson macrumors 68000

    glenthompson

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Location:
    Virginia
    #3
    The only time I really need more than 8gb is when running Parallels and Windows. When running native OS X apps I never see any significant memory pressure.

    So unless you run a lot of memory intensive apps, 8 should be fine.
     
  4. Meister Suspended

    Meister

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    #4
    Look here: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1756865

    ----------

    If you know that its different with everyone then why do you ask in general? There is no in general.
    Why do you want to exchange your macbook and what for?

    They only reason ram requirements go up for basic office tasks is developer laziness.
    The theoretical real requirements for apps haven't changed for years.
     
  5. capathy21 macrumors 65816

    capathy21

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
  6. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #6
    8GB with Mavericks compression can give you 14-15GB with compression so I'd say yes, if you strain 8GB physical then there is still plenty of growth for expansion via compression....and that may get better with further OSX releases.
     
  7. Cloudsurfer macrumors 65816

    Cloudsurfer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #7
    From experience I can say that even 4GB is enough for 3-4 1080p timeline tracks in FCPX. My memory pressure stays in the green all the time, even with lots of effects and titles.

    So it's not that video editing requires maxed out Ram per definition.
     
  8. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #8
    I'd say that 8GB is more then enough for most uses.
     
  9. brdeveloper macrumors 68020

    brdeveloper

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Location:
    Brasil
    #9
    It depends enough for what. I think most normal usage can be made with just 8GB, but as always, some tools can increase their system requirements with time (like Photoshop, Netbeans, Eclipse + Android SDK, etc).

    If you're a lawyer or someone who deals mostly with text, spreadsheets, browsing the web and watching full hd movies, you should be certainly fine for 5 years.
     
  10. nostresshere macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    #10
    Sorry, but "in general" can mean different things. If you are editing cable tv specials, in general, you are already in trouble.

    If you are browsing the web and running office, you are in fine shape.
     
  11. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #11
    It gets complicated now that most computers are having integrated GPUs with shared vRAM. Now all the ram has to be shared, so you really have ~3.5gb of usable ram. Add an external monitor, and you're down even more. Since it is a retina display, user interface elements are all high-res, so that uses even more ram.

    I don't think I'd go with less than 8gb at this point.
     
  12. s2mikey macrumors 68020

    s2mikey

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Location:
    Upstate, NY
    #12
    Me too. Honestly, many of us that did go with 8 would have likely found that 4 was also good enough. But, let's face it, most of us are spec nerds so we just HAD to have 8 GB of RAM. :D
     
  13. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #13
    Agreed, even with 4, that would be fine, but because the ram soldered onto the logic board, people are extra wary.
     

Share This Page