8gb mac mini

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by gamer2502, Apr 12, 2009.

  1. gamer2502 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Location:
    near Pittsburgh,pa
    #1
    Hey everyone i was just wondering if anyone has tried put 8gb of ram in a new mac mini because i really haven't found anything about anyone trying this anywhere and i think it would be interesting to see the results.:apple:
     
  2. Jpoon macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #2
    It's software locked to only recognize 4GB's. Similar situation with that of MBP's for a while. So there's really no point.

    Anyways, with that type of hardware, I don't see how you would actually utilize 4 GB's of RAM.
     
  3. robotartfashion macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #3
    in the first few days after the mini was updated OWC (macsales.com) did attempt both 8gb and 6gb installs and found that the mac slowed to a crawl

    4gb is currently the max
     
  4. gamer2502 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Location:
    near Pittsburgh,pa
    #4
    Ok thanks i was just curious:apple:
     
  5. michael.lauden macrumors 68020

    michael.lauden

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    #5
    it's not just software locked.

    for instance my Intel 945 chipset won't recognize more than 2GB of RAM
     
  6. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #6
    It is capable of 3+ gb, but because of the firmware (which is really software) you're stuck at 2 gb (presuming a Core Duo/Solo system).
     
  7. ADent macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    #7
    The Core Duo (CD) and Core 2 Duo (C2D) Mac mini use the same chipset - 945 with GMA950 graphics. The C2D sees 4GB, but can only utilize 3.x GB. The CD machine will not boot if more than 2GB is installed.

    AFAIK the CD and C2D Mac mini are identical besides the firmware.

    The later 2009 Mac mini uses a different chipset.
     
  8. michael.lauden macrumors 68020

    michael.lauden

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    #8
    as far as i know - mine maxes out at 2GB, i have an older mini (1.66 CD, late '06)
     
  9. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #9
    Yes, the chipset is capable of addressing 3.2 gb RAM, but Apple has firmware restricted it to 2 gb. As ADent pointed out, the Core Duo/Solo and previous Core 2 Duo Minis use the same Intel chipset. All Apple would have to do is release a firmware update and your Mini would take two 2 gb sticks for 3.2 gb RAM. Doesn't that suck?
     
  10. robotartfashion macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #10
    Hey CaveMan, the OP was referring to the new Mac Mini, which has 4 GB max usable, (although apparently the system will recognize 8 GB, but it slows the mini to a crawl which is most likely apple tampering) not the previous iteration which was restricted to 3.2gb

    :)
     
  11. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #11
    Uhhh...yeah, I know. If you reread my posts you'll see that I was referring to Michael's gma950 Mac Mini, not the Core 2 Duo or 9400m Minis.
     
  12. michael.lauden macrumors 68020

    michael.lauden

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    #12
    aw dang i thought it was the chipset!

    you're right that sucks!!!
     
  13. James Cole macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    #13
    Why would the mac mini slow down when presented with 8gb?
     

Share This Page