8gb of Kingston RAM is not all that!!!!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by CC424, Jan 23, 2011.

  1. CC424 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    #1
    I updated my RAM 1 month after getting my MBP and it is still slow. Web browsing is a PIA...Tolerable but I expected more out of 8gb.

    Anyone else experiencing the same?
     
  2. DeusInvictus7 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario
    #2
    RAM isn't made to speed things up. It's to store more information for running applications at the same time.

    Slow web browsing is all to do with your internet/router connection.
     
  3. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #3
    Doesn't sound like RAM is your problem at all... especially when it comes to web browsing

    What browser are you using
    What router
    What are your settings
    What ISP
    Have you checked speedtest
     
  4. maril1111 macrumors 68000

    maril1111

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Location:
    Denmark
    #4
    maybe you have too many things running also whats your internet speed for all i know no matter how much ram you have with a slow connection the web brwosing experience will be slow as well.

    Maybe install a flash block
     
  5. coder12 macrumors 6502a

    coder12

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    #5
    Coming from someone on a Dell Mini 10v netbook running osx, 2gb ram runs the internet in safari very well :) I'd say: check your browser, and check your internet speed.
     
  6. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #6
    My Macbook Pro came standard with 1gb of RAM... I've since upgraded it to a whopping 3gb of RAM, less than 1/2 of what you have, and all of my apps open within a bounce or two (iTunes obviously being an exception) and the internet works just speedy.

    I'd suggest looking over your internet speed as Safari will stop responding and even crash if your network connection randomly drops out a lot.

    Also, you never told us if it's opening Safari or browsing the net. If the issue is opening Safari (and other programs), then there's another issue going on here that isn't being addressed.
     
  7. CC424 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    #7
    Thanks for the responses...I did not think about the internet connection but I currently have U-verse.

    I was generally speaking about the web browsing speed because I noticed the speed while browsing. I get beach balls when switching apps.

    I was wondering if there is a setting that I need to adjust like on windows?
     
  8. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #8
    Beach balls between apps.... Now we're getting somewhere. Now I am thinking you could have a HDD issue that should be checked out.
     
  9. CC424 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    #9
    How do I check it out? I also updated my original hd to a 1tb samsung drive but the new drive cause major vibration problems. So, I have put the original drive back in.
     
  10. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #10
    Is your MBP still under warranty? If so bring it in to the Apple Store.

    There is also SMARTReporter, but I doubt it's effectiveness because SMART wasn't written with enough reporting robustness.

    Another method which is a bit time consuming and requires an IBM PC.

    If you have access to an IBM PC, you can purchase a copy of Spinrite, then remove your HDD from the Mac and get an adapter to connect it to the IBM (if it has an IDE controller), otherwise connect it using the SATA cables. Then run Spinrite on it.

    I use Spinrite all the time to repair bad sectors on failing HDD's and also to restore a bad HDD so the data can be recovered before putting in a new HDD. It's also good to run it as a regular HDD maintenance tool.
     
  11. NickZac macrumors 68000

    NickZac

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    #11
    RAM seems to either 1) work without issue, or 2) outright fail. Kingston RAM has been used by a lot of people on the MBP. As said, unless you are using a few hundred tabs or other resource-intensive programs, RAM may not affect performance much.
     

Share This Page