8gb Ram, can my Macbook pro use it?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Ohnevah, Jun 4, 2011.

  1. Ohnevah macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
  2. Ohnevah thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    #3
    wow never saw that site...im bookmarking it now
     
  3. DIMEZ macrumors 6502a

    DIMEZ

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Location:
    MD
    #4
    yes it will...even 2008 model seem to use 8gb
     
  4. gorskiegangsta macrumors 65816

    gorskiegangsta

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #5
    The 2009 MBP models use DDR3 RAM running at 1066mhz (with max capacity of 8gb (2x 4gb)). The RAM you have here (DDR3 at 1333mhz) should be compatible, although it will downclock to 1066mhz from 1333mhz.

    I would get the G.Skill kit, it has excellent customer reviews.
     
  5. rkmac macrumors 6502

    rkmac

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Location:
    JAFA, New Zealand
    #6
    There used to be an issue with some of the early unibodies and 8GB of RAM, but it seems an EFI update or something fixed it... sadly this happened after I bumped mine to 6GB :mad:
     
  6. RKilbane20 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
  7. Ohnevah thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    #8

Share This Page