8GB RAM DIMMS work on MP 2010 6-Core 3.33Ghz?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by sparkie7, Aug 10, 2010.

  1. sparkie7 macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #1
    Any confirmation that 8GB sticks will work? -- to get a 3x8GB = 24GB config?
     
  2. Icaras macrumors 603

    Icaras

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    California, United States
    #2
    I'm curious about this too...

    but they should though, since the 6-core supports up to 24GB
     
  3. Ryan P macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    #3
  4. Desmo1098 macrumors regular

    Desmo1098

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    #4
    I spoke with OWC earlier about this... Their answer was simply that the systems are not available yet and until they get their hands on one they do not know.
     
  5. shokunin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    #5
    On lloyd chambers' site he mentioned that it was due to the 2010 (Quad and Hex) using 3xxx series Xeons and that the intel spec sheet for the 3xxx Xeons state a maximum of 24gb using 6 DIMM slots (6*4GB). He implies that the 2009 were using 5xxx Xeons even for the quad-cores, which makes absolutely no sense to me and I almost positive my friends 2009 is quad core is a 3xxx Xeon when we took it apart. Even the 2009 had the same limitation of 24GB in the 3xxx Xeons. Nothings changed in terms of limits from the original Nehalem quad core and the 2010 quads and hex.

    Using 5xxx xeons in the 2009 quad core configuration is like apple giving us a single DIMM when we order 4GB of RAM so that we could easily upgrade to 8GB. yeah right.

    So my theory, if 32gb (4x8GB) worked fine in the 2009 Mac Pro then it should work just fine in the 2010 Mac Pros. OWC will know soon enough once they get their hands on one.
     
  6. sparkie7 thread starter macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #6
    ok thanks guys. looks like its a waiting game :rolleyes:
     
  7. huscat macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Location:
    Kansas City
    #7
    Definitively Yes They Work

    I can say that we ran Kingston 8GB ECC DIMMs in a 2009 Mac Pro and they worked perfectly. There is only one downside, you have to have only 8GB DIMMs in it. It will not read any smaller DIMMs. Since the 2010 board is 5020 based, I'd bet money they will work as well.
     
  8. sparkie7 thread starter macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #8
    whats your RAM config? -- 8GB x 2, 8GB x 3 or 8GB x 4?
     
  9. simplymuzik3 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    #9
    So can it run with just a single 8GB chip (other 3 empty), or does it have to be dual channel (2x8GB and 2 empty)?
     
  10. sparkie7 thread starter macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #10
    any update or confirmation??

    ---


    update: i checked OWC and Transintl and neither have 3x 8GB or 4x 8GB upgrade kits for the 3.33 MP

    -- guess they don't know yet either
     
  11. BrenMyster macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    #11
    just out of curiosity,


    if the 3.33 take the 8gb sticks, will you be able to use 2*4gb with 2*8 gb at the same time?

    I just ordered 2*4gb, thinking maybe I should have waited.
     
  12. eponym macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    #12
    No.

    OWC says specifically "8GB Module sets require that all installed modules be of the same kind OWC 8GB module."
     
  13. sparkie7 thread starter macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #13
    is that a technical fact or a marketing ploy. Maybe a non-identical RAM configuration might be slower than matching, but should work. No?
     
  14. eponym macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    #14
    Technical requirement, as far as I know. I've seen that requirement on other sizes before as well.
     
  15. sboerup macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    #15
    barefeats just stated in another thread that in his opinion, the best way to get 24GB would be 2x8GB and 2x4GB . . . i'd trust him over OWC at the moment.
     
  16. bzollinger macrumors 6502a

    bzollinger

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    #16
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_0_2 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8A400 Safari/6531.22.7)

    You should be able to run two pairs of dimms, 4gb & 8gb, the question is will the 2010 mps run in dual channel mode when all 4 slots r filled like this.
     

Share This Page