8GB Ram for i7 iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by lianjie, May 25, 2010.

  1. lianjie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #1
  2. hundert macrumors regular

    hundert

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    #2
    Make sure you do use all 4 GB of your ram.

    And if you do need more than 4, the price for the linked ones is way too high for 8GB.

    Edit:

    Do not look for "for mac" memory as macs don't use any special mac memory. The new imacs use
    SO-DIMM DDR3 204pin memory. So look at pricegrabber for SODIMM DDR3 or SO-DIMM or newegg.

    I personally do not recommend kingstone. Corsair, g.skill, mushkin, geil should be of better quality.

    Also make sure the RAM you have finally chosen works well with iMacs. Dr. Google always helps.

    posting problems on internet
     
  3. lianjie thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #3
    Yeah I definitely do. Any other suggestions for lower prices?
     
  4. hundert macrumors regular

    hundert

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    #4
  5. lianjie thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #5
    Well i'm looking to move up to 12 GB. I'm assuming I have 2 slots left for 2x4GB. I have 2x2GB right now, or whatever apple gives you as the standard.
     
  6. hundert macrumors regular

    hundert

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    #6
    Unless you have 3Ds Max, Maya, Mudbox, After Effects, Final Cut, Photoshop all laoded with 20megapix pictures with 200 layers and have them all open at the same time you don't need 12 gb of ram.


    Well, if you do, I guess you will have to spend a lot of money^^
     

Share This Page