8GB RAM in Macbook 5,1

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Ksizzle9, Aug 6, 2011.

  1. Ksizzle9 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    #1
    i know this has been discussed ti death but i want some input from people who have actually done it. I have a late 2008 macbook that runs like a thing of beauty 3 years later. ANywho, here are my specs, 2GHZ C2D proc, 4 GB RAM, from the factory, and 250Gb hard drive, i know if officially only supports 4, but who has run 8GB RAM, and can confirm that it works in there stable. i would appreciate any feedback, and i will be checking this periodically thru out the day.
     
  2. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern Cal
    #2
    Like you said, there's already tons of posts about people running 8GB on these books, how much proof do you want.
     
  3. ViPhone macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    #3
    Yes, its very much possible.

    If it doesn't work, its probably due to faulty memory. It should work otherwise.
     
  4. Ksizzle9 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    #4
    it realize that its in here, however i would like to hear a success story or two. My MB was owned by an old woman and literally never used, so when i say it is in pristine condition I'm not even joking, and id like to keep it that way. I've had offers over $1000 from some class mates and co workers but love this thing(except the graphics card/). I just want to keep it in tip top condition bc i want to sell or trade it in the next couple of months towards a MBP.
     
  5. BL4zD macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    #5
    If people are offering you offers of $1K for your old macbook you should take it. Even moreso if you intend to upgrade in a month or two.
     
  6. maril1111 macrumors 68000

    maril1111

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Location:
    Denmark
  7. Ksizzle9 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    #7
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_10 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8E600 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Sorry I got off topic about offers, I was drinking lOl. Most people know think that the 13.3 unibody MacBooks are actually the MBP. Those are all the ppl who don't know about macs however. Also, the $1000 offers have been a while. But even if I sold it for $10 I would have to pry it out of my wifes cold dead hands. Glad to hear 8 GB IS doable.
     
  8. unixperience macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    #8
    it does indeed work. I have 8 gigs from crucial for about 2 months, works great. It really depends on the brand I think.

    I did buy 8gigs of kensington and it didn't work, i had kernel panics every few minutes. I should also note, I later found out the model i bought wasn't SPECIFICALLY for mac, but the regular ram (apple uses slightly different timings i guess). So if you go for it, make sure its apple compatible.
     
  9. ohhs, Aug 8, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2011

    ohhs macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    #9
  10. BL4zD, Aug 8, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 14, 2011

    BL4zD macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    #10
    That's the 8gb I bought for my 5,1 on August 2nd. It was $10 dollars cheaper with a rebate. Now it's $10 dollars cheaper at Newegg
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...-_-na-_-na&AID=10440897&PID=3629892&SID=ih-ih

    I'm using InvisibleHand with Safari, btw.
     
  11. ohhs macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
  12. EricTux macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    #12
    8go works great on late5,1macbook!

    Hi all,

    If this can help anyone. I bought this 8go ram from crucial. Installed it without any problem. Now my MacBook is... flying ;) Actually 6,90Go of memory used without any slowing down.

    MacBook5,1; Intel Core 2 Duo 2 GHz x 2; boot ROM: MB51.007D.B03; MacOs 10.6.8

    Thanks
    Eric
     

Share This Page