>8GB RAM on 15" Corei7 doable?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by zanax, May 21, 2010.

  1. zanax macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    #1
    What I am asking out of pure curiosity is given the current official RAM limit for 2010 MBPs is 8GB (and thats what I got) if it can be pushed towards 16GB, the current max for laptops like HP envy etc. I read some folks have been successful in bringing the RAM upto 6GB on older 4GB max machines; hence the curiosity.

    I use VirtualBox VM for XP (2GB assigned) and Linux (2GB assigned), w/ Adobe Illustrator, Photoshop, Firefox, Thunderbird simultaneously. I know I'll better off running a proper desktop but I have to be on the move pretty often.


    P.S. I had been a linux user on a IBM T43p machine for the last 3yrs so don't flame me for mentioning HP Envy, it could well be any other brand that might support 8GB+ RAM.
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    And maximum of 16GB? There are no 8GB DDR3 SO-DIMMs available and if there ever were, they are going to be VERY expensive plus I don't know does the chipset even support 8GB modules
     
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    4 x 4 GB for a 16 GB configuration. I haven't seen 8 GB density SO-DIMMs, yet.

    RAM densities over 4 GB are looking into server territory.
     
  5. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #5
    Yeah, you would need more slots. Biggest module made is 4GB, so in theory you might be able to, but you won't find anything to upgrade with.
     
  6. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #6
    Mm. AFAIK, Lynnfield (i5/i7 used in iMacs) doesn't support more than 4x4GB (no 8GB DIMM support) so would be ridiculous if Arrandale did. 8GB DIMMs would cost more than MBP would so not really worth it
     
  7. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #7
    There are a handful of P55 based motherboards that have 6 RAM slots. 6 sticks x 4 GB of RAM for a total of 24 GB. It'd still be in a dual channel configuration though.

    4 GB density RAM appears to be the upper limit single socket systems.
     
  8. jnpy!$4g3cwk macrumors 65816

    jnpy!$4g3cwk

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #8
    I've wondered this too about the Macs. If compatible 8 GB DIMMs come out, will the MBP's be able to address it. And, why don't the MBP's have four slots?
     
  9. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #9
    Lack of space.
     
  10. jnpy!$4g3cwk macrumors 65816

    jnpy!$4g3cwk

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #10
    Memory prices are back up now, but, will drop again in the future-- they always have. Is there an addressing limit on this type of DIMM?
     
  11. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #11
    Not true. I found 3 at NewEgg. Although they have 6 slots, the limit is still 16GB :(
     
  12. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #12
    Well, 8GB would be like 1000$ per module... As Eidorian said, single sockets only support seem to support 4GB modules so it's very unlikely that 8GB module would work
     
  13. jnpy!$4g3cwk macrumors 65816

    jnpy!$4g3cwk

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #13
    As more organizations go with single-laptop-per-employee strategies, and, flexible workspaces, there will be more demand for do-everything laptops. A rule of thumb for some time has been 2 GB per thread. That makes 8 GB pretty logical for a 2-core 4-thread MBP, but, precisely because of the rise of VM's, and, not having multiple machines as in the past, I think the option to add more memory makes sense.
     
  14. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #14
    It does look like 16 GB is the limit.
     
  15. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #15
    very depressing. i was hoping that the iMacs would support maybe 32GB. but nope, silly intel and their stupid specifications. thanks.
     

Share This Page