8GB RAM or 7200RPM HDD for Macbook PRo?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by ZzBoG, Sep 10, 2008.

  1. ZzBoG macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    #1
    I wanna boost my 2.4 C2D Macbook Pro, but I can't decide which way to go..

    I have enough money for either installing 8GB RAM (I have 4 now) into it, or changing stock 160GB 5400RPM HDD for a 320GB 7200RPM one.

    Which will be more useful?

    I have enough hdd space on external drives, so I'm upgrading for speed only.

    I do film editing in FCP2 and some Photoshop and some web-browsing of course.
     
  2. mattyb240 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
  3. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
  4. MacBass macrumors 6502

    MacBass

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Location:
    La Crosse, WI
    #4
    4 GB is the max that the MBP/MB/iMacs can support. The Mini can support up to 3 GB, and the MP can support up to 32 GB. 4 GB should be plenty.
     
  5. Scepticalscribe Contributor

    Scepticalscribe

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    The Far Horizon
    #5
    The MBP cannot take more than 4RAM, (the top end desktop, the MP, can take more, obviously), ergo, go for the extra HDD.
    Cheers
     
  6. john123 macrumors 68000

    john123

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2001
    #6
    I beg to differ.
     
  7. basesloaded190 macrumors 68030

    basesloaded190

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #7
    care to elaborate?
     
  8. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #8
  9. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #9
    Go for the 7200rpm HDD, I had one in my MacBook Pro and it was quite speedy! :)
     
  10. Genghis Khan macrumors 65816

    Genghis Khan

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #10
    have you ever photoshopped for 12 hours straight?

    more ram = faster photoshop

    *4GB made it possible for my computer to last that long, but it was struggling by the end.........
     
  11. benwa02 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    #11
    Bingo! - PS can chew up RAM easily
     
  12. Bobjob186 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Laguna Beach
    #12
    take a 15 second break and relaunch the app...problem solved.
     
  13. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #13
    the current macs that aren't fully expandable cannot support more than 4Gb of ram at a single given time. you can have the os swap out ram but cannot access all 8GB at a single given time. So go for the HD.
     
  14. finalcut macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #14
    Personally, even if the MBP would take 8GB, I'd take a 7200RPM HDD anyway
     
  15. john123 macrumors 68000

    john123

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2001
    #15
    Another case is virtualized environments. Run even one, and a lot in both environments, and 4GB feels constricting very fast.

    It wasn't long ago that I thought 4GB was indulgent overkill. But that was before Parallels/VMWare became an everyday part of my life.
     
  16. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #16
    CS3 apps can only use 3GB of ram max each if I remember correctly.


    Mac Pro can use >4gb of ram.
     

Share This Page