8gb ram

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by mwhities, Oct 26, 2011.

  1. mwhities macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    Mississippi
    #1
    I was finally able to get 8Gs of ram for my mid 2010 Macbook. Should be in today sometime. Wife may not like it but, I have a vase of flowers being delivered as well. So hopefully it off sets the delivery of my ram. :)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. tug macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Location:
    loughborough. u.k.
    #2
    good thinkin, :cool:

    whenever i get something i always make sure I'm the only one at home when it gets delivered. ;)

    no 'how much have you spent on that'

    what the wife doesn't know won't hurt her (or me) :D
     
  3. Kaspen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Hi, where did you buy the ram?
     
  4. mwhities, Oct 26, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2011

    mwhities thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    Mississippi
    #4
    It worked wonderfully. :) She txted me a picture of the flowers and shortly after, the RAM came in. Be careful though, I thought I was doing well for a bit, then she had a day off and busted me when I bought 2 X 500gig drives for my file server.. "I thought you weren't buying anymore?".. oops. :)

    Hello. I bough the RAM from OWC. Two day shipping and thus far, no issues.

    http://eshop.macsales.com/

    RAM came in today and it's working great. Kinda scared me when I first booted up, it took a little longer for it to come up. I figured it was scanning/registering/whatever the new RAM. I can see a noticeable difference already.

    Now to get this drive, might order it tonight of BB or someone local doesn't have it.

    http://benchmarkreviews.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=525

    Opinions on that drive?
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Kaspen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    #5
    Do you know if i can buy OWC ram in europe?
     
  6. blevins321 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #6
    Yes you can. I've seen many reviews of them that all say they're a terrific international shipper.
     
  7. mwhities thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    Mississippi
    #7
    I think so.

    He's correct about shipping to other countries. I just looked it up on their site's FAQ:

    http://eshop.macsales.com/Search/displayFAQDetails.cfm?ID=645

    Just add the items you want into the shopping cart then select the country.

    Thus far the RAM is working really well. I haven't noticed anything in a negative sense. I know switching from screen to screen is a lot smoother and the boot up time even seems to be quicker.
     
  8. Angelo95210 macrumors 6502a

    Angelo95210

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #8
    OWC ships to Europe but I can remember they are pretty expensive for that...
     
  9. z4x0n macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Location:
    Isla de Muerta
    #9
    Hey, I can see that you upgraded your HDD to SSD, I have the same MacBook 2010 7.1 White, I upgraded to 8GB Kingston a few months a go, and now I have it with the stock 5400 rpm Hitachi HDD, I use my MacBook to edit videos ( up to 1 gb size ) and it is really slow when it comes to exporting files in Final Cut, sometimes it takes up to 2-3 hours ( 6-10 mins 720p video ) I stopped exporting in 1080p because it will take forever to export. I don't know if that's because of the HDD. Anyway Do you edit/export videos? Is it fast with the SSD? And is it worth upgrading?
     
  10. mwhities thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    Mississippi
    #10
    I'm a simple user and it makes everything I do, FAST. I am not a professional in the sense of Apple with graphics/videos. I just know the 16 second boot up; from being turned off is awesome. :)

    I'd say upgrade and you should be able to sling out 1080p videos a LOT faster.
     
  11. z4x0n macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Location:
    Isla de Muerta
    #11
    thanks, i am gonna give it a try :)
     
  12. mwhities thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    Mississippi
    #12
    No problem.

    Post up on how it works out for you.
     
  13. z4x0n macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Location:
    Isla de Muerta
    #13
    i did upgrade to Crucial M4 256 ssd, it's amazing, starts up in 12 seconds, shuts down in 3 seconds. video exporting is ok (anyway the MacBook mid 2010 white is pretty old) but it does not take as long as it used to. overall i am satisfied, any app starts in under 1 second including FCP X and Aperture. i guess no more modifications to make :D pity it does not take 16 GB of RAM
     
  14. mwhities thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    Mississippi
    #14
    My mid 2010 Macbooks acepts 16G ram. :)

    My thread:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1508452

    Post from OWC:

    http://blog.macsales.com/16302-some...mpaign=Feed:+owc+(Other+World+Computing+Blog)
     
  15. z4x0n macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Location:
    Isla de Muerta
    #15
  16. mwhities thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    Mississippi
    #16
    No problem at all. Good luck!
     
  17. z4x0n macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Location:
    Isla de Muerta
    #17
    thanks, could you run NovaBench (free from the AppStore) & CineBench (free from maxon) & geekbench 2 if you have it, and post the results? i would like to see if it's worth the upgrade for my needs :) appreciated
     
  18. mwhities, Jan 7, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2013

    mwhities thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    Mississippi
    #18
    Definitely. I'll do it tonight when I get home. I'll be working on it anyways. I sold my 2009 Mac mini last night that was my media center. Now I have to make my 2010 the media server.... per my 5yo and 2yo's demands...

    EDIT: I do have GeekBench. I think I ran it before. Let me look.

    EDIT1: Here is the GeekBench 64B with 8Gs ram. (Says early but, everymac says mid *shrugs*)

    http://browser.primatelabs.com/geekbench2/1355624
     
  19. z4x0n, Jan 7, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2013

    z4x0n macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Location:
    Isla de Muerta
    #19
    this is before the 16GB of RAM, isn't it?

    Edit: i was asking about the benchmarks for the Mid 2010 MacBook :)
     
  20. mwhities thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    Mississippi
    #20
    Oh crap. Sorry I was busy today. I'll do the Macbook in just a few, right after I eat.
     
  21. mwhities thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    Mississippi
    #21
  22. z4x0n macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Location:
    Isla de Muerta
    #22
  23. mwhities thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    Mississippi
    #23

Share This Page