$99 iOS developer program: Is it worth it for me to sign up?

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by MacNoobGuy, May 13, 2012.

1. MacNoobGuy macrumors 6502

hey guys, i'm a complete beginner to iOS and programming in general. i know it's needed to publish apps on the store, but is it worth it for me to sign up? what benefits will i get from it? the only thing i want to do is have the ability to test out apps on an ipod touch.

would it be better for me to wait a bit longer and learn more before going ahead with it? it's for a year, but is that from now till Dec 31st or May 12th 2013?

thanks

2. Tander macrumors 6502a

Tander

Hi MacNoobGuy,

If you're a complete beginner in iOS programming, I would suggest waiting until you can actually create an app and run it on the xCode simulator. Once you're at that stage, you will have to enroll in the developer's program for $99 per year in order for you to sign the application and run it on your iPod.

Without enrollment, you can only ever run the app on the simulator - and that in it self isn't a true test of the app's capabilities or performance etc until you get it onto actual hardware.

If you were to enroll in the developer program right now - it would expire in a years time, so - 13th May 2013.

R.

3. xArtx macrumors 6502a

I'd agree to try out the simulator.

There are reasons you'd need to jump straight in.
    If you wanted to use real GPS hardware for example.

I do find it more rewarding to see things happen on the real hardware,
    and be able to carry it with me.

The year is confirmed on the phone under Settings, General, Profile Provisioning.
    Mine expires April 2013.

4. ArtOfWarfare macrumors 604

ArtOfWarfare

Do as much testing of your app in the simulator before you sign up for the developer program.

5. jnoxx macrumors 65816

jnoxx