Home A bag of hurt

Discussion in 'HomeKit, HomePod, CarPlay, Home & Auto Technology' started by aawil, Feb 23, 2016.

  1. aawil macrumors 6502a

    aawil

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    #1
    I kind of expected this to just work but I can see it's nothing but a headache still. Bought an iHome plug to use with a lamp. I can only get it to work with one device, and only that device can find it via siri. It's currently setup on the iPad but I can't get it on the iPhone in their app and siri doesn't work on anything other than the iPad.
     
  2. ericgtr12 macrumors 6502a

    ericgtr12

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    #2
    I understand Homekit is a framework but this is a perfect example of the need for a UI, at the very least you need a visual representation of basic functions.
     
  3. aawil thread starter macrumors 6502a

    aawil

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    #3
    Well I figured this out. I logged out of iCloud on the device I had it working on. After reloading it works on all devices now. Bit of a pain but works well now. The complaining is over :)
     
  4. amjustice macrumors 6502

    amjustice

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    Naperville, IL
    #4
    Glad you got it working, yes some of this stuff can be tricky on homekit right now. if you run into any other issues ping me and I am happy to try and help.
     
  5. robnbill macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Northern VA - Fairfax Area
    #5
    I'm curious on where triggers are stored and executed from. I know in the case of the iDevice switch - timed triggers are stored in the device - and executed from the switch. I wonder if that is the same for the ConnectSense switch and the iHome switches. I'm assuming the triggers are stored in the hub for Lutron devices.

    Does anyone know?
     

Share This Page