A bit apprehensive about using Boot Camp

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by CrazyChihuahua, Mar 22, 2008.

  1. CrazyChihuahua macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    #1
    Hey folks. I'm sure it only happens to a small number of people, but the fact that my OS X partition can I guess disappear or get screwed up has me a bit worried about trying to use Boot Camp. I have the Windows CD and whatnot, but it's just that something could go wrong that has me a bit worried.

    This Mac is pretty new (about a week old), so it's not loaded with stuff, but I've already copied all of my files over, and re-ripped music and such, and all of that stuff that'd just be a hassle to do all over again.

    Am I just worrying too much? Should I just jump in and use it anyways? It's only for some gaming, really, not much else.
     
  2. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #2
    I'd say your overreacting, especially since the machine is practically new. I've installed Windows through boot camp on 4-5 different computers, all without issues.
     
  3. CrazyChihuahua thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    #3
    Hmm, ya, I figured as much. Forums always paint a negative picture because no one posts about when stuff works, only when there's problems, so you never really see the success stories I guess :p

    Thanks for that.
     
  4. Teej guy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #4
    Just follow the instructions and you'll be fine. 90% of people's problems with Bootcamp screwing their computers up are their own fault.
     
  5. CrazyChihuahua thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    #5
    Alrighty, this is being posted from Windows now. Everything seems to be just dandy.

    Although, it would've been cool if there was some sort of notice saying "Oh ya, once the drivers are installed, your computer is gonna be SUPER loud, but the sound keys won't work right away." Would've been nice to know that before I did this at 12am with people sleeping :p
     
  6. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #6
    Should've plugged some headphones in I guess, :D
     
  7. CrazyChihuahua thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    #7
    Ya, I'm dense. I realized that right after I posted, and kind of slapped myself for not realizing that sooner. I instead keyboard navigated through control panel and such until I could change it. Stupid me.
     

Share This Page