a bit of advice please.... mac pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by gothbiker, Aug 9, 2013.

1. gothbiker macrumors newbie

hello, first post here, I have had a macbookpro for just over a year, I love it and would never go back to a windows based machine, I've been looking at buying a pro, mainly for the internet and photography, I'm a student so havent lots of cash, would this be a good buy? im happy upgrading and enjoy it.
    or has anybody any advice, i dont fancy a hackintosh, good as they are i prefer upgrades working and not crashing the system, been there before.

ive found these on ebay, what would you advise??

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/251317011286?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/161081226320?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649

before anybody says, i havent the cash to buy new or refurb from apple

thanks for the advice dj

2. simsaladimbamba

This auction shows a G5 PowerMac, which is the PowerPC predecessor of a Mac Pro. That auction also states "AUCTION IS FOR WHAT IS PICTURED ONLY", thus even if it is listed as Mac Pro with a Xeon CPU, it is not a Mac Pro with a Xeon CPU but a G5 PowerMac with a PowerPC CPU.
    Those G5 PowerMacs do not run any modern Mac OS X version besides Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard, as Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard, Mac OS X 10.7 Lion, OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion and OS X 10.9 Mavericks require a Mac with an Intel CPU.

The second auction shows and lists an actual Mac Pro, but it is the first one ever from 2006. While it may be a tiny bit faster than your MBP (you have not stated any model specifications to be sure), it might not be what you are after.

I run a Hackintosh with video and photo editing capabilities and duties quite well and if one knows its bugs, one can circumvent them.

Btw, a G5 PowerMac has one optical disk drive (ODD) and a Mac Pro has two ODDs. That way you can differentiate them quite easily on a first look basis.