A career in Mac/iOS programming?

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by lowonthe456, Nov 14, 2011.

1. lowonthe456 macrumors 6502

So I have been a graphic artist and prepress guy since 1994, and I'm about done with it. I want to do something new but at my age that's tough to do. I love the Mac and iOS and have been considering something in that area as a new career. This led me to programming.

I dont live in SF or other Meccas for programming, but it seems like in this day and age, and in this field it doesn't matter. Plus it's something that intrigues me and something that's complex but not unattainable.

I am digging in to the FAQ but would like to know what kinds of opportunities there are for Mac/iOS coders and good books and things there for someone who has never coded before EVER.

Humbly,
    M

2. 95yjman macrumors member

95yjman

I wouldn't mind finding this information out for myself heh

3. jnoxx macrumors 65816

jnoxx

Well, it's not THAT easy to have a full time career out of iOS/Mac programming, at least in the country I am at, it's not that easy to find clients.
    Thing is, I'm a full time iOS programmer, which I love doing, well, not only iOS, i focus on mobile front-ends, but specially iOS.
    Thing is, projects are coming in slow, even though we are one of the biggest consultancy's in the 3 country's surrounding. So that means something, it's a weird market out there which can turn around every second, and the other day it's back to normal. About the books, read the stickies/FAQ/Topics that get created every day from people who want to learn Cocoa/Touch programming.
    ANd you should be on your way, depends on your determination.

4. firewood macrumors 604