A couple of bugs in the public release...

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by randomgeeza, Oct 17, 2014.

  1. randomgeeza, Oct 17, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2014

    randomgeeza macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    Chess crashes when you are logged into GameCentre, and you try to look at Achievements. Has been doing this since forever...? Yes, I have bug reported it, a few times.

    The No Transparency Volume / Brightness / Keyboard Backlight icon glitch is still insitu... And yes ,reported it as well.

    And a new one for me... System Information in Utilities (Not in About this Mac / System Report) ... Most of the right hand pane information is missing / blank... And when a specific is hit such as RAID, which my machine does not have... I get text which is downwards scrolled....??? Anyone else?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. randomgeeza thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    Bumping this to the top... The System Report issue seems odd to say the least... And no replies? Can a few of you try yours to see if you have the same?

    My MBP15 is fine, but the MBP17 2009 5.2 does it...? This is the third clean install on the unit as well (due to a few stoopid mistakes I made).

    So it can't be a one off glitch?
     
  3. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
  4. randomgeeza thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #4
    Cheers for checking... Did you go in via About this Mac or through Utils?
     
  5. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #5
    As the previous poster, mine is also working fine via the Utilities folder.
    Sounds to me you may have a borked installation.
     
  6. randomgeeza thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #6
    This is the third time it has happened, over three clean installs.... ARGH!!!!!

    Oddly it works if I go in via About this Mac...
     
  7. randomgeeza thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #7
    Im hoping you might be slightly more experienced than me and wondered if you knew whether a Command-r repair of the OS might fix the problem? Does it go into apps when repairing the OS installation... Or does it just hit the system files themselves. Could this be another case of having to start from scratch again?

    I've tried turning Trim off using Trim Enabler to see if that had any effect, the answer: No.

    I am aware that messing with PRAM and SMC, when Trim is enabled can bork the boot up... But will be trying that next, with Trim turned off...

    Failing the repair, I suspect another day of clean installing and most probably seeing the same issue again... GRRR!

    Any advice would be appreciated... Anyone...???
     
  8. randomgeeza thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #8
    Hi, for anyone that is interested or suffering the same issue... this is a bug and not a borked installation. I have found the conflict and surprisingly it is in System Preferences.

    It is to do with the scroll bars.

    If you have it set to Always on, as I do... It affects System Information pane and thus, renders it blank.

    If you have scroll bars set to Automatically based.... System Information renders correctly. Displaying the system specifics.

    Bug report and steps to reproduce filed with Apple. So if you have the same issue... It's quite easy to overcome, until a fix is issued in a future update.
     

Share This Page