A couple of MBP questions before buying

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Hawt, Jun 13, 2007.

1. Hawt macrumors newbie

Hi guys,

This site is great, I just went through the buyers and size guides which were very informative.

I have never used a Mac before and I am thinking about making the jump and getting a MBP for my birthday; but I still have a couple of questions that are unanswered that I hope you guys can help me with.

My first question is about the LED screen. I heard about the LED Screens but when I went looking on the Apple Store website I didn't find any mention of it.

http://store.apple.com/AppleStore/W...co=69EF97D7&wosid=WVUsQDl3dHPt25FU4602kCOe6kq

Is the MBP that I linked above the one with the LED Screen? I don't see it mentioned anywhere on the page and I would think that would be a selling point they mention.

My second question is in relation to when I should buy. The Buyers Guide says now is a good time to buy since the updates happen about every 6 months of so.

But, with Leopard coming out in October (4 months away) and reading about the yellowish tint and the bad headphone jack, would it be wiser to wait a bit to purchase one then? Do you think another set of updated computers will be released alongside Leopard?

Also, will I have to pay to upgrade for Leopard when it comes out if I purchase now?

This is kind of long, so thanks in advance for taking the time to read through and answer my mac newbie questions.

PS - On a side note, this is my first laptop and I have read a lot about how hot notebooks can get, can anyone recommend a good cooler?

Thanks alot,
    -Tim

2. sikkinixx macrumors 68020

sikkinixx

I'm 99% sure that if you buy now, you will have to pay for Leopard, and new rev's MAY come out for the launch, who knows? Best rule of thumb is buy if you need it, wait if you can. Waiting for 4 months only to get a speed bump would kinda suck though no?