A couple of questions about erase and install.

Discussion in 'macOS' started by JW008, Sep 30, 2007.

1. JW008 macrumors 6502

I posted this in another thread, but it was getting buried...sorry for the repost! :)

Hi, I'm planning on doing an erase and install when Leopard arrives and just had a couple of questions about the process (specifically backing up), since I've never done it before (and admittedly makes me a little nervous).

I have an external firewire hard drive, so all back up I'm planning on doing on that.

1) There's just a couple of applications that I want to save (since I'll just reinstall, iLife '08 and Microsoft Office from the DVDs), what is the best way to do this? I have .Mac, so should I use Backup to save these or can I just drag and drop the applications I want to keep onto the external hard drive? Are there other things that I need to worry about along these lines?

2) Since I have .Mac, I assume that my Address Book, my mail settings, my iCal, my keychain, etc. can be resynced (from .Mac) once I complete the erase and install. Is that correct?

3) What about my iPhone? I know my iPod will sync back with no problem, but I'm a little worried about my iPhone. Will the phone still recognize this as the computer it originally was paired with? Will I have to restore the iPhone as well? Should I save the restore files that go along with the iPhone when I'm backing everything up?

4) Perhaps the stuff I am most worried about are my pictures (in iPhoto) and my music/videos (in iTunes). If I back these up (using .Mac Backup) can I restore them EXACTLY as they were before? (i.e. same albums, events in iPhoto and same playlists, play counts, etc in iTunes) Is .Mac Backup the best solution or is there a better way to do it?

I know this is a long a post and I really do appreciate all the help anyone can give me!

2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

mad jew