A crazy idea...

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by jimijazz, Jun 15, 2007.

  1. jimijazz macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    #1
    A friend of mine seems to believe that I might be able to run Linux (Ubuntu) using Boot Camp. I see no mention of this anywhere at all. I'd like to, if it's possible. Anyone know anything?
     
  2. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #2
    Not sure about using Bootcamp, but I think you can using Parallels desktop
     
  3. Airforce macrumors 6502a

    Airforce

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    #3
    You don't even need boot camp. Just partition and install.
     
  4. atszyman macrumors 68020

    atszyman

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    The Dallas 'burbs
    #4
    Boot camp really has 2 purposes

    Boot camp contains information necessary to emulate the BIOS in the EFI (or is it EMI) motherboard chipset to boot Windows and I don't see why this couldn't be used to boot Linux or anything else.

    The second part is the hardware drivers for Windows. You'd need to find linux drivers for all of the hardware and that could prove to be difficult. Especially since the drivers are also what control the MB fans, IIRC. I remember early on when people were hacking the first Intel Macs to run Windows the fans running at full speed or not at all seemed to be common problems.
     
  5. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #5
    yep. should work without a problem really.
     
  6. jimijazz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    #6
    Oh, really? That's pretty cool.

    Partition.... first? Where do I do that? (Sorry, I just got this computer yesterday, recent switcher ^_^;)
     
  7. jimijazz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    #7
    All the online guides for Linux on the MBP use Boot Camp...

    ...guys?
    (girls?)
     
  8. killerrobot macrumors 68020

    killerrobot

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #8
    go to applications/utilities/disk utility

    select a HD and then you'll see a tab that says partition
     
  9. jimijazz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    #9
    Thank you! I was mucking about in System Preferences, to no avail. :p
     
  10. killerrobot macrumors 68020

    killerrobot

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #10
    No prob. Once you're done let me know how it went. I've been interested in doing the same thing, just too lazy to get going on it.
     
  11. jimijazz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    #11
    OK... I am bad at this... it doesn't seem to allow me to specify the size - It grays out that option. Furthermore, there are three options for the "Partition Scheme." Should I choose "Master Boot Record"?
     
  12. killerrobot macrumors 68020

    killerrobot

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #12
    Yes, choose the master boot record. After that is done, it should allow you to select the size of the partition.
     
  13. jimijazz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    #13
    Um... it didn't... D:
    Am I doing something wrong?...
     
  14. jimijazz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    #15
    Oh jeez, it erases the hard disk?... I've been downloading and installing stuff like a madman for two days straight. I'll have to think about this.
     
  15. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #16
    These links might be useful:
    http://www.mactel-linux.org/wiki/HOWTO
    http://www.mactel-linux.org/wiki/Dual_Booting

    You'll need a second partition:
    http://www.ffnn.nl/pages/articles/apple-mac-os-x/nondestructive-partitioning.php

    Make a backup of your drive first. I suggest getting an external hard drive and iinstalling Linux on it, or cloning your Mac HDD to it using something like SuperDuper so you can easily fix it when you have problems. I say "when" because it's doesn't seem to be an easy process, and the first time you do something like this, the chances are high that you'll screw something up.

    By the way, I haven't done this, and even though I've screwed about with dual booting Linux and Windows, I wouldn't try this. Unlike killerrobot I'm not going to encourage you to do it.
     

Share This Page