A critique on a video

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by kwong2006, Jul 13, 2007.

1. kwong2006 macrumors regular

I have a huge favor to ask. I am a student journalist, and I made this package in May on the immigration protests in Phoenix, AZ. Can anyone take a look at the video and give me some feedback on how I did, and what could be improved?

The video
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b2g_praMutw

Thanks!

2. diamond3 macrumors 6502a

I thought the movie had a professional feel to it. Maybe some more practice on the camera work. I noticed there were a few times it looked like you just got the footage from a protester on the street if you know what i mean. There were a few parts that could have been improved on as far as the camera work went like centering. One example is where you are talking in the street, you could lower the camera a little more. Maybe center more on your mouth instead of you face as a whole. I'm not saying its horrible at all, I thought it was done really well. I just figure you would want something you could take from this comment. Also, there was a part where the crowd is screaming and you are talking over them, turn down the volume on the crowd just a little more. Other than that, it was superb!

3. P-Worm macrumors 68020

P-Worm

The reporting around the 30 second mark could benefit from the rule of thirds. Compare the shot that you have there with the shot around 1:18. The rally would look more visually pleasing if you were to step a bit to the side.

Also, there are some audio issues. The first clip is to quiet and when you come in, it's a tad startling. If you are going to use some background noise underneath the reporting, grab it all from the same clip or stagger the audio cuts with the video cuts so that the edits aren't as jarring.