A Ctrl, Alt, Del Combo that actually works?!

Discussion in 'macOS' started by kdum8, Jun 10, 2008.

  1. kdum8 macrumors 6502a

    kdum8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #1
    On occasion my MBP 2.5GhZ Leopard 10.5.3 crashes, locks up completely. Now in windows this happens a lot more granted, but at least when you press Ctrl, Alt and Delete it reboots. In OS X both the Force Quit command and the restart shortcut (Ctrl Eject) keys quite often don't work either. I use my MBP primarily in clamshell mode and it is a pain to get it out everytime to hit the power button.

    Is there a key combo that works flawlessly like Ctrl, Alt, Delete in Windows does?
     
  2. motulist macrumors 68040

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #2
    I'm not quite sure I understand the question, like I don't know what you mean by clamshell mode. But anyway, if you're saying the force-quit commands (not the regular quit commands) aren't working and you want to force a restart, hold down the power key for 5 seconds. That'll force shutdown.

    EDIT: oh, you mean running with the lid closed and you want to know how to force a restart from the external keyboard you've connected to the laptop. Which external keyboard are you using? Some of them have a power key even if it isn't labelled as such.
     
  3. kdum8 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    kdum8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #3
    Yeah with the lid closed, so hitting the power key on the mac is a pain because it isn't in an easily accessible place, hence the need for a reset key that actually works... ;)
     
  4. tammy418 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Location:
    Gainesville/Miami
    #4
    On my macbook pressing cmd+ctrl+eject restarts the computer, it also works using the wireless keyboard.

    Since when does ctrl+alt+delete restart a windows machine? It brings up the task manager...
     
  5. motulist macrumors 68040

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #5
    By the way, do you regularly use a bit torrent client? Some bit torrent clients lately have been causing some people to have strange Leopard slow death problems. Those affected see network problems, application quit failures and force-quit failures, and finally restart failure necessitating a force-shutdown.
     
  6. Burgess07 macrumors regular

    Burgess07

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Location:
    Watertown, WI
    #6
    I believe what you are looking for is command-option-esc.
     
  7. kdum8 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    kdum8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #7
    Thanks for the input everyone. Yes I do sometimes use a bit torrent, but I don't think it's that necessarily although worth knowing. It happened today in Aperture 2 when it got all very clunky, ;)

    So basically is it the case that if "Command, option escape" doesn't work then the only option is the power off button??
     
  8. motulist macrumors 68040

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #8
    The bit torrent client doesn't even need to be opened to cause the problem. After doing a restart, try running for a while without launching a bit torrent client and see if the problem persists or not.
     
  9. kdum8 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    kdum8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #9
    This is very interesting especially as you say it can occur when the software isn't even running? Do you have any more information on this, I would be curious to know more. I run Transmission mainly and the other day downloaded Azureus to give it a go. I will quit them though, do what you suggest and see if it makes any difference. Thanks, :cool:
     
  10. motulist macrumors 68040

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #10
    http://forum.transmissionbt.com/viewtopic.php?t=4564&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0

    So it definitely happens in Transmission, probably happens in Xtorrent since that's based on Transmission code, and I heard someone else say that they were using Azureus and it was happening to them too, but I have no information about that program.
     
  11. kostia macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    #11
    As said above, command-control-eject, and hold it down. If you have an old Mac keyboard with a power button, command-control-power does it too.
     
  12. Switz213 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    #12
    Just hold down the power button on your MBP.... nothing else.

    Edit: Ok... I see you know that, but how did you manage to hit CTL+ALT+DELETE without opening your pc...?
     
  13. kdum8 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    kdum8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #13
    Because I have a wireless keyboard separate from the laptop. The problem is that CTRL+ALT+DEL invariably works even when windows locks up, where-as CMD,Option, Esc on a Mac often doesn't. Kind of annoying and the first area where pc's have the edge that I have found since I got this shiny, new and otherwise brilliant MBP...
     
  14. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #14
    Well, my experience with Ctrl-Alt-Del is different from yours because it often does NOT work flawlessly or invariably

    I would say they both are about equally effective

    Woof, Woof – Dawg [​IMG]
     
  15. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #15
    You might want to try
    - Force quit (Option-Command-esc), before doing
    - Quit all applications and restart (Control-Command-Eject)

    Keyboard shortcuts
    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1343

    However you definitely want to open disk utility and
    - Repair permissions
    - Verify disk
     
  16. kdum8 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    kdum8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #16
    And what will this do?
     
  17. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #17
    it can prevent a variety of issues and maybe correct what is causing you to lock up in the first place

    Woof, Woof – Dawg [​IMG]
     
  18. kdum8 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    kdum8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #18
    nah, not in my experience they aren't.
     
  19. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #19
    let me clarify, i am speaking of using ctrl-alt-del to get to the task manager to quit a program, like force quit on the mac

    even using ctrl-alt-del to restart completely isn't flawless if you have a hung program

    Woof, Woof – Dawg [​IMG]
     
  20. ScoobyMcDoo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #20
    I have had a couple of times the UI on my mac has become unresponsive to anything I knew to try at the time. I don't know if this is an option for you, but I just went to my trusty linux box, ssh'ed into the mac. From there I just rebooted the mac remotely.

    So, at least for me, it appears it's just the UI, not the entire OS that is locking up.
     
  21. redwarrior macrumors 603

    redwarrior

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Location:
    in the Dawg house
    #21
    I would have to say that ctrl-alt-del works 50% of the time for me.

    Sometimes on my mac if a program is unresponsive, I can go to another space and end it from there. That has saved me several times.

    This is weird, I dreamed about this last night.:confused:
     
  22. kdum8 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    kdum8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #22
    OK then I agree with you.

    Linux huh. I use it at work, but how have you got your system setup?
     
  23. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #23
    You can also use any computer to SSH into Mac (if you have the admin password and you turn on SSH on your Mac), it can be a Mac, iPhone (jailbreaked), Linux, or even windoww machine.

    Then run the command: TOP to see if anything is unresponsive, and then you can end the unresponsive app with a command and the process ID (shown in TOP)

    Exactly. Forgot to say that. I suspect the OP's HD will need to be repaired by Disk Utility due to various hard power offs.
     
  24. kdum8 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    kdum8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #24
    Hard power offs??? What on earth are they? I ran the Disk Utility, don't really know what I am doing though...although it successfully executed.
     
  25. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #25
    I can't believe no one has mentioned that the problem could be that you are running your Macbook Pro in clamshell mode. Having the lid closed traps a lot of heat that would have otherwise dissipated, it's best, even when working on an external monitor to just leave the laptop open.
     

Share This Page