A-Data S396 the worst SSD

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Spacedust, Oct 8, 2012.

  1. Spacedust macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #1
    I got 4 of these with very low usage (about 1000 Power On Hours so far):

    - first died after a month - not recognized
    - second died last week - lots of bad sectors
    - third died this week - some bad sectors, some reallocated

    Reason is very simple: http://fatoo.co.uk/disk/a-data-s39630g-sata-ii-review-never-buy/

    They are selling bad Intel NAND's with half of real capacity !
     
  2. Spacedust thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
  3. Draeconis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #3
    There are some things it's worth spending the money on. SSDs would be one.
     
  4. george-brooks macrumors 6502a

    george-brooks

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #4
    I still have yet to purchase any SSDs for my MBP or Mac Pro, but when I do, I certainly won't waste my money on cheap crap!
     
  5. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #5
    I never trusted this brand. Not every cheap brand is crap, but this one certainly is. I had very bad experience with their SDRAM and DDR in G4 and G5. Although I was once kinda forced to buy their DDR3 for Mini, and (knock on wood) it still works.
     
  6. Spacedust thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #6
    Now even if they send me new ones I will replace all four with Corsair Force 3 60 GB. They seems to be very reliable and even faster than OCZ Vertex 3 60 GB.
     
  7. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #7
    Corsair issued a recall in 2011. From what I have seen Force 3's are on par with Agility 3 NOT Vertex 3. So not sure of the speed or reliability. ymmv.
     
  8. Spacedust thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #8
    Vertex 3 is fantastic in terms o reliability. I got two Vertex's 3 120 GB in my database server in RAID1 working 24/7 with more than 1500 MySQL databases and so far no issue from December 2011. I use the latest firmware 2.25.

    131 TB reads/31 TB writes - wear range delta 2 on both.

    OCZ got great support and forums. They reply very quickly.

    Vertex 3 is a little bit more pricey than Corsair. I will look how prices will go in next weeks.

    Last year I was using a server with just one Intel SSD 80 GB drive and it also lasted almost a year, but I can't test it longer since the whole server was replaced with a better one.

    This year dead/problematic SSD list with number of Power On Hours when first error occured:

    Kingston SS100S2 16 GB - 1600
    Kingston SSDNow 40 GB - 6090 (that one got only few reallocated sectors, but it was working fine, replaced it because it was 3 years old and warranty was about to expire, it was an Intel in Kingston case, so Intel is working very well)
    Kingston SS100S2 16 GB - 2100
    Kingston SS100S2 16 GB - 2200
    Kingston SS100S2 16 GB - 2267
    ADATA SSD S396 30 GB - 262
    ADATA SSD S396 30 GB - 1282
    ADATA SSD S396 30 GB - 1391
    ADATA SSD S396 30 GB - 1900
     
  9. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #9
    I am glad that things are working great for you but this is not the general consensus. In fact it is the Vertex 3 in particular that dragged Sandforce's name through the mud and continues to draw ire from the SSD public when asked about stability and reliance. Vertex 3 sunk SF-2281. I currently use SF-2281/2 from OWC and Intel anyway. 1 in 4 have died.
     
  10. Spacedust thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #10
    The good thing is that OCZ is giving great tool to update firmware on SSD's on Linux without rebooting or unmounting file system ;)
     
  11. Omnius macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    #11
    Kingston's SSD V200 is very unreliable with Lion but works flawlessly with windows 7. Some SSDs are finicky.
     
  12. Spacedust thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #12
    I don't see any issues with Mountain Lion nor with Windows 7. I'm using 128 GB model with latest firmware.
     
  13. Omnius macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    #13
    My issue arose on the 256gb model (allegedly it was released with only the latest firmware). My understanding is that 256gb model doesn't have mac os x support. Although, I'm not sure how thats possible.
     

Share This Page