A dirt cheap G5 of my own

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by ptdebate, Mar 30, 2015.

  1. ptdebate macrumors 6502

    ptdebate

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2014
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    #1
    Well, since picking up my 30" Thunderbolt display, I've been eager to see it operate at full resolution. My flashed FireGL x3 hasn't come in yet, so I haven't been able to test that guy out in my G4 yet. I finally have a whole day off from work, so I decided to look around on craigslist for a G5. And what do you know? A 2.7GHz DP model for only $50! :D

    Previously, I wasn't that fond of G5s because they look almost exactly like the Mac Pros that replaced them and stayed basically the same for 6 years. But man, this is a really pretty piece of hardware--especially on the inside.

    Now I'm very conflicted. Do I put the FireGL card into my G5, making this the ultimate G5 system (barring the quad, which has issues of its own) or should I use it in the G4, which is awesome in its own right and would probably make it the most powerful single-processor G4 in existence?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #2
    I'd stick it in the G5, although if it's an AGP card it obviously won't fit. The late 2005 G5 uses PCIe.
     
  3. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #3
    A 2.7DP will have AGP
     
  4. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #4
    My bad, for some reason I thought it was a quad. Yes the 7,3 uses AGP.

    ----------

    OP, I'd stick the card in the G5. You'd have a much more capable machine there.
     
  5. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #5
    Thunderbolt display?

    Is that correct? The 30" display you were talking about in the other thread is a Thunderbolt display?
     
  6. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #6
    It's a Cinema Display. Thunderbolt only comes in 27".
     
  7. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #7
    Yeah, that's what had me a little confused. I know that our old G4s and G5s can drive 30" displays with the right video card, but other than a DVI to Thunderbolt adapter (does such a thing exist?) I'm not sure how OP would hook a Thunderbolt display up to his FireGL X3 card no matter which Mac he chooses to put the card in.
     
  8. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #8
    The 30" requires Dual Link DVI. There's a resolution cap of 1920x1200@60Hz on a single link connection which is fine for the Alu 20"/23" Cinema Displays.

    There's an (expensive) Apple adaptor for Mini DisplayPort/Thunderbolt to Dual Link DVI to allow current Macs to use the 30".

    AFAIK you can't convert a Thunderbolt display to anything else. The Thunderbolt port on the Mac is backwards compatible with Mini DisplayPort so you can use 24"/27" Cinema Displays, or adapt it for VGA/DVI/HDMI with older Cinema Displays or third party monitors (like my Dell 24") etc.
     
  9. ptdebate thread starter macrumors 6502

    ptdebate

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2014
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    #9
    Whoops! I meant "Cinema Display." Not sure why I wrote "thunderbolt."
     
  10. desantii macrumors 6502

    desantii

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Location:
    Aurora, IL

Share This Page