A few Airport Express questions

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by calviin, Aug 5, 2011.

  1. calviin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    #1
    So far, I've done this. While this works for external drives, I was wondering if I could push it another step and move everything into an external cloud. Thus, the Airport Extreme. Would this same trick work? But since an Extreme is $180 or so, I'm going to get an Express first, which should allow me to expand my wifi range in my house in the future, when I do get an Extreme. Right? Basically, I'm asking if I can get an Express now to act as a standard router and get an Extreme in the future for iTunes. Thanks!
     
  2. skorpien macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #2
    I wouldn't recommend an Express as a primary router due to the fact that it doesn't have any LAN ports. If you want any wired devices to join your network, you'll need a more full-featured router.

    Is there any particular reason you're looking to get an Apple brand router? I'd suggest a Linksys router for now, and when you want to move your iTunes library to your network you can get a NAS.
     
  3. calviin thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    #3
    I bought a Cisco E4200 but it can't read the USB drive since it only reads FAT32 drives. I can't think of a situation where I will ever need more ethernet cables. If I get an Express now, it'll allow me to bridge later more easily with the Extreme. Or do you have other suggestions that could work?
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    That's not true.
    http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wire...e-wireless-n-router-reviewed?showall=&start=1
    http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wire...erformance-wireless-n-router-reviewed?start=2
     
  5. skorpien macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #5
    Honestly I'd suggest getting a NAS and a wireless repeater. You'll get better transfer rates with a NAS, and if you get just an enclosure you can use the HDD you already have in there.

    I have my iTunes library on a DNS-323 and it works perfectly.

    Edit: But to answer your original question, yes it's possible.
     
  6. calviin thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    #6
    Oh huh. Interesting. I tried setting up the external drive yesterday but it would work unless I put in a 8 gb thumb drive in the FAT format. I did share the whole partition and I couldn't find it. Any solutions?
     

Share This Page