A few iBook G3 questions

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by iModFrenzy, Oct 14, 2015.

  1. iModFrenzy macrumors 6502a

    iModFrenzy

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Location:
    501st Legion
    #1
    A few days ago I ordered(Should come tomorrow ) an iBook G3, which I am going to use a OS 9 laptop.

    The iBook comes with its stock ram(128mb) so I was wondering if these sticks could be used.

    [​IMG]

    Also, I saw that it only has 802.1.1b. Is it possible to upgrade the Airport card to a Airport Extreme? If not then I guess I could hook up my old Netgear router.

    Last question, are the fans loud? If I am playing a game like Quake or Doom will they start going crazy?

    I am going to use WordPerfect but I need to print documents, I doubt Epson supports OS 9 :( , are there some universal drivers that could do basic printing functions.

    Thanks
     
  2. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #2
    Are those 144 pin SO-DIMMS? If they are, that RAM should work in an iBook G3, as all call for either PC-100 or PC66(using a higher speed is not a problem). With that said, you really should hunt down some 512mb sticks(PC100 or PC133 will be fine). I have it stuck in my head(from sorting obscene amounts of RAM) that PC100-322-620 is 128mb, although I may be wrong on this. You only have one slot to play with, so cram as much into that one slot as you can!

    There is no way to put anything other than an Airport card in an iBook.

    In general, these are very quiet laptops. If it's a Clamshell(you didn't say one way or another) there are no fans at all, although the original hard drive tends to be very loud. I'd look into replacing it with a newer hard drive or even an SSD. The "Snow" iBooks have to be driven pretty hard for the fan to come on(although my one running Leopard WWDC 2006 runs the fan all the time).
     
  3. gooser macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2013
    #3
    i use a brother model 2040 printer for printing documents with os 9.
     
  4. iModFrenzy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iModFrenzy

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Location:
    501st Legion
    #4
    It'll be a bit before I can grab a 512mb stick.

    And like you said, the sticks are 128mb.

    Oh, then I guess I am hooking up my old Netgear then.

    Should've mentioned that, it's the snow iBook. No fans on the Clamshell:eek:, how did Apple manage that?

    As for a SSD/New HDD, I thought replacing my PowerBooks HD was bad.:confused:
     
  5. iModFrenzy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iModFrenzy

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Location:
    501st Legion
    #5
    It's here! It's in great condition, this used to belong to a school and it turns out this has maxed ram (576mb). It also says 500mhz PowerPC G3(a bit misleading on the eBay page but I'll live with it.

    Anyway here's some pics

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    I can't seem to get rid of that nasty sticker sadly.

    Time to throw OS 9 on it!
     
  6. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #6
    I wouldn't ditch Tiger in a hurry-this should run Tiger fairly well.

    Before installing OS 9, make sure the HDD has OS 9 drivers installed(it's listed in System Profiler somewhere). Attempting to boot into OS 9 without having the drivers installed can sort of brick the system-sometimes holding X while booting will get it back to OS X, but at other times you have to boot off an OS X install disk and use the "startup disk" utility to get back to booting into OS X.

    Also, before you do an OS 9 install, check for an OS 9 system folder on the hard drive. It's often there for Classic support. It will just be labeled "System Folder"(OS X is just labeled "System"). Assuming this is there and the OS 9 drivers are installed, you can boot off of it. Just select it in Startup Disk under System Preferences.

    Try 90% isopropyl alcohol or denatured alcohol on the sticker. Saturate the sticker, and you should be able to gradually peel/flake it off.
     
  7. iModFrenzy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iModFrenzy

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Location:
    501st Legion
    #7
    [​IMG]

    While Tiger runs well , the main purpose of the iBook G3 was to run OS 9.

    The install took less than 5 minutes and now I am happily running OS 9.
     
  8. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #8
    As @bunnspecial said, 90% isopropyl (rubbing alcohol) will take it right off. Stickers can be a bit bothersome, but once they are soaked in liquid they come off fairly easy
     
  9. Greene macrumors regular

    Greene

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2015
    Location:
    Fort Worth
    #9
    Recently had to remove 20 or so stickers that were stuck onto a MBP. Alcohol, a razor blade, and a steady hand helps, but patience is really what gets them off.

    Anyway that's a beautiful OS 9 machine, I'm a big fan of the transparent keyboard iBooks!
     
  10. Gamer9430 macrumors 68020

    Gamer9430

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Location:
    Central New Jersey, USA
    #10
    That is a beautiful machine iMod! Pretty jealous ;). Lots of luck!
     
  11. iModFrenzy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iModFrenzy

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Location:
    501st Legion
    #11
    Haha, before I touched it there was marker all over it(from teachers putting tons of numbers to keep track).

    --

    I'll try taking the sticker off tomorrow

    --

    Didn't think a 500mhz with 8mb graphics could game but wow
    [​IMG]
     
  12. Gamer9430 macrumors 68020

    Gamer9430

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Location:
    Central New Jersey, USA
    #12
    What game? Also, what's with you and getting computers from people who have been in the professional field, lol. Therapists, teachers... Lol
     
  13. iModFrenzy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iModFrenzy

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Location:
    501st Legion
    #13
    Red Faction, I'm gonna download Star Wars Dark Forces in a few. For some odd reason, Classila glitches out when trying to download files..."Time:unknown 134235533"

    I have no idea aha, what a coincidence.
     
  14. Gamer9430 macrumors 68020

    Gamer9430

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Location:
    Central New Jersey, USA
    #14
    I have no clue why it would give you that error. On my PBG3 PDQ using OS 9 and Classila Ive never had an issue. Try resetting the user settings or something like that
     
  15. iModFrenzy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iModFrenzy

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Location:
    501st Legion
    #15
    I actually found that big files will have a hard time, I downloaded Marathon (remember that old shooter Bungee made in 1999?). It was 5 mbs and gave me no issue.

    I have to use my routers own Optimum WiFi to get connection because it's the only thing that supports B and doesn't have WPA 2 security on it.

    Going away for 2 days so the iBook is gonna be put to the test!
     
  16. Gamer9430 macrumors 68020

    Gamer9430

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Location:
    Central New Jersey, USA
    #16
    Hmm interesting... Yeah, my router has that too (you are the one who told me to get it, lol! They came today to redo the outdoors wiring to improve the network performance :) ). Hopefully that iBook stands up to the test. My PBG4s could easily (as long as they don't start acting up, and they definitely would if they had working batteries) but a G3 on OS 9 may be pushing it a bit for me, lol.
     
  17. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #17
    Just don't try this site with a G3 in Classilla :)
     
  18. iModFrenzy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iModFrenzy

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Location:
    501st Legion
    #18
    Actually works fine! Bit of lag but mostly fine.
     
  19. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #19
    That's interesting...I've found this website in particular to mostly make Classilla roll over and die. About the only thing I can get it to work well on is a high speed G4(1ghz+).
     
  20. iModFrenzy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iModFrenzy

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Location:
    501st Legion
    #20
    They should've kept the classic theme for PowerPC, My Powerbook G4 struggles as well with MacRumors.
     
  21. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #21
    Or just an HTML mode
     
  22. WalnutSpice Suspended

    WalnutSpice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Location:
    Canton, Oh
    #22
    I have a question of my own for this, is it possible to get G4 specific apps on these? I've managed to get iMovie 09 on my PowerBook G4 (Which "Requires" a G5), so it must be possible to get G4 apps on these, right?
    I just want to be able to run Spotify so it can serve at least some purpose to me.
     
  23. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #23
  24. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #24
    In a more general sense, some G4-only programs rely to some extent on the Altivec instruction set, and it's not always possible to make the program work(or at least work well) if you take Altivec away.

    I have a version of Aperture-I think 1.5 or maybe 2.x-that specifies a G5 or a late model Powerbook G4. It basically requires two features to work-Core Image support, and the only G4 it will seemingly work with is a 7447A. It won't install on anything not meeting these criteria.

    My main Quicksilver has a Core Image GPU, but is running the stock dual 1ghz 7455 processors. I forced an install of Aperture on this computer(TDM install from a supported computer) but it won't even launch.

    On the other hand, I have another Quicksilver with a Core Image card and a 7447A based CPU upgrade(dual 1.25s overclocked to 1.6ghz) and it runs Aperture perfectly.
     
  25. iModFrenzy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iModFrenzy

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Location:
    501st Legion
    #25
    [​IMG]

    Dark Forces! At first I didn't like DF due to the PSP ruining the experience with awful lag.But running it smoothly at high res. is fun!

    Also got the game Abuse which runs well too, Marathon was a PAIN. There was no lag in marathon but there was no escape/pause menu to fix controls so I was forced to restart.

    One question, has anyone ever heard a horrible noise through the iBooks headphone jack?
     

Share This Page