A few new mac peripherals questions...

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Hey Apple!, May 10, 2007.

1. Hey Apple! macrumors member

I am new to Macs and mac peripherals so I have a few questions...

Apple® AirPort Express 802.11g Wireless Base Station:

1) Does it have a built in modem type thing so I do not have to connect to my DSL speedstream and that if I get it?

2) Is it portable and easily configurable? Like can I say use my connection with it at home and when I am visiting other places be able to use it there as well w/o doing a lot of work.

3) Is it easy to wireless share a printer with it?

Mice:

1) What is a good gaming mouse. I know macs and gaming usually do not go together but even if I do not play games on my MBP, I will have a good mouse. So suggestions?

2. justG macrumors member

justG

- One of the Razer mice.
    - Logitech MX 518.

3. spacepower7 macrumors 68000

no modem

The AirPort Express 802.11g Wireless Base Station does not have a modem so you need to hook it up to the ethernet jack on a DSL or Cable modem.

I take mine with me whenever I travel. It is very easy to configure plus it has Airtunes.

4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

mkrishnan

Looks like everything else has been addressed. For most well-behaved printers (e.g. anything with native OS X drivers), you basically plug it in, and you can see it as a Bonjour printer from any Mac. I think it's basically the same for any Windows computers on the network, if you install Bonjour (although I believe you can do it w/o Bonjour).

The nice thing about the Bonjour system is that it is zero-config -- you don't have to set up the printer at all on the Macs. Any Mac that joins the network can see and use it instantly.

5. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

QCassidy352