A Few Questions About Some Mac Appz

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Stymie, Sep 5, 2007.

1. Stymie macrumors newbie

Hey guys, I'm new to around these parts. I finally got a Mac a few weeks back but in the meantime, I always followed the news on this website before I ended up purchasing one. This is a great Apple resource for anyone.

Anyhoo, on to a few questions I have concerning a few programs

1. I am not a fan of iTunes. Personally speaking, I think its one of the worst media players and music organizers available. That said, I know how valuable it is to have around if you have an iPod, which i do. What I'd like to know however is if there is an alternative to iTunes available that has similar features to it? I'm not a fan of how the program creates a separate music directory for itself which essentially creates 2 directories with the same files if you happen to store music in your main Music folder; it just eats up hard-drive space. And I don't particularly like how it organizes the songs automatically via folders depending on artists. Nonetheless, I'd succumb to using it if it comes to the point where its my only option.

2. I have an iPod video and I would like to take a few videos I have with me on the go. However, they're saved as .avi files and I know iPod Videos only accept mpeg format. Is there a program available that I can get that will convert my .avi files to the mpeg format?

These are all the questions I have at this point that I can think off the top of my head. Any others and I'll update the thread. Thanks guys!

2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

mad jew

The feature that iTunes has to organise your music files can be toggled on and off in the preferences. :)

3. Stymie thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks mad jew, I appreciate your help. I got another few questions I'd like to ask if you don't mind answering.

1. What exactly do i do in preferences to remedy my grievances with iTunes?