A free, easy way to make Mac browsers faster

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by *LTD*, Mar 1, 2010.

  1. *LTD* macrumors G4

    *LTD*

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
  2. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
  3. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #3
    Thanks for this. I'll check it out. Nothing wrong with faster browsing!
     
  4. *LTD* thread starter macrumors G4

    *LTD*

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    Glad I could help (or try, at least.) Hopefully you'll all find this of some use.
     
  5. IBradMac macrumors 68000

    IBradMac

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
  6. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #6
    Was given a DNS that I was told was 42% faster
    Second test gave me a faster one
     
  7. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #7
    Thanks for the heads up.

    Got a 33% improvement, but browsing hasn't been noticeably different, guess the old one wasn't that bad :)
     
  8. IBradMac macrumors 68000

    IBradMac

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #8
    Any help or heads up on how to configure this with Airport?:eek:
     
  9. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #9
    Does seem to be faster with me
    But I had to add the DNS to my airport list, not the a new ethernet

    Maybe I didn't do it right
    But I am not connected by ethernet
     
  10. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #10
    Select your airport
    Select advanced
    Select the DNS tab
    Add your new DNS
    Move it to the top

    At least that is what I did :eek:
     
  11. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #11
    Anyone getting something like this?
    Picture 9.JPG
    Internal 10-1-1 ??
     
  12. IBradMac macrumors 68000

    IBradMac

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #12
    Thanks! I got it now...I'll browse around some and see how this works!
     
  13. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #13
    WOW
    That was quite an improvement!
    Mine was 42% faster
     
  14. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #14
    The thing is, 10.0.1.1 is already set as my primary DNS server. The first time I ran namebench, it said 10-1-1 was 130% faster than my current server, which was already 10.0.1.1. The second time I ran namebench, it came up with 247%. Something's wonky.
     
  15. *LTD* thread starter macrumors G4

    *LTD*

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #15
    Mine was 144%. Second test revealed one that was 42% faster. Switched to that one. It's holding steady now.

    Things do seem snappier, but we'll see.

    Interesting . . .
     
  16. Wild-Bill macrumors 68030

    Wild-Bill

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    bleep
    #16
    So, with this application, Safari really does seem snappier? :p
     
  17. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #17
    It may just be a placebo... but right now it does seem faster
    I will be interested to see over time if I still notice

    Thanks for the link
     
  18. talmy macrumors 601

    talmy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #19
    There can be potential problems. My router was supplied by Verizon and is hardwired to go to it's DNS server, which puts up a fake web page with links if you type in something wrong rather than returning failure. OpenDNS does the same (how do you think they make their money?). Google DNS gives the correct "not found" response. So I have to override the DHCP provided DNS setting (192.168.1.1, the router) in every computer to use Google DNS. But if I do that then I don't get DNS service for the systems on the LAN. Eventually I plan to use a Mac Mini Server to be my DHCP and DNS server, then I can forward requests to Google DNS and all will be fine again.

    In general, if you have a local server, you want to use that for DNS as it will cache the addresses and be faster responding than any external server.
     
  19. *LTD* thread starter macrumors G4

    *LTD*

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #20
    So how's this going for everyone?

    Still good on my end. Things feel quite a bit faster and the DNS server I switched to is still confirmed as fastest on the list.
     
  20. TheShinyMac macrumors 6502a

    TheShinyMac

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    #21
    Is this safe, I do alot of online shopping. What should I be worried about
     
  21. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #22
    This is the situation I'm in. So, it doesn't help.
     
  22. Readinglevelup macrumors member

    Readinglevelup

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    North America
    #23
    Kinda sad, but I can't even open namebench. Is there something I'm missing? I downloaded it from google, sent it to applications, but when I double-click it won't open. Is the application only for leopard? I have version 10.4.11.
     
  23. bocomo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    New York
  24. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #25
    yeah, I doubt it runs on Tiger
     

Share This Page