A gift for mac-users (my first program) :-)

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Thinksamuel, Mar 24, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Thinksamuel macrumors newbie

Hello

my name is Samuel Van Ransbeeck. I am a student of
    composition at ESMAE in Porto, Portugal. For my
    electronic music project, I developed a program that
    takes the values of the stock exchange and translates
    them into music, and also improvises with the data. My teachers liked it a lot and I alredy got lots of positive feedback on the program. As I put lots of work in it, I don't want it to collect dust so i am putting it on the internet for download. I hope you will like it. Here is the
    downloadlink
    http://www.filemojo.com/018385241811973/Stockwatch.zip

yours sincerely
    Samuel Van Ransbeeck

2. Kashchei macrumors 65816

Kashchei

The time when a new aleatoric composition would be mildly interesting to anyone has long passed. It passed into extinction with the deaths of Cage and Stockhausen (Boulez is inexplicably behind the curve here). Your teachers should not be encouraging you in this direction since this is the equivalent of music composition malpractice.

3. Cromulent macrumors 603

Cromulent

How is that malpractice? Give the guy a break, I don't see how anything could be considered malpractice when it comes to art. Seems a contradiction in terms if you ask me.

4. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

A newcomer comes onto the forum with a free app that he's written, happily makes it available to all, and gets an earful? Not impressed.

5. bartelby macrumors Core

Jeez, lighten up.

Seconded.

To the OP. Any chance you could put some excerpts up?

6. Kashchei macrumors 65816

Kashchei