A good deal now versus buying with bigger debt later?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by luffytubby, Jan 27, 2013.

1. luffytubby macrumors 6502a

luffytubby

My dilemma;

I am a student, and for the next six years I will continue to be. While I am suffering from dyslexia, going to school has and is difficult, and it has meant that I always had to invest more time into studying than others. This has made my time allowance for part time jobs, lower, and thus I have been unable to save up for expensive things.

I was going to take a massive(for me) loan in the bank, for a Thunderbolt Display + a high end Haswell refreshed Retina MBP 15 inch, and apple care and see if this setup could get me through the majority of the years at university, thus justifying the price of admission paying it off.

The problem is that the interest rates a student like me gets are horrible. We are talking interest rates of 25-30% which means that if I take a loan of 5000 dollars, I am going to be paying the banks more than double the amount back over the course of four years. That is going to suck.

Being 25 years old, having never taken a loan thus far, and still having not travelled and all that, I fear I underestimate the consequences by taking such a crazy loan.

But alas, a guy I know told me about a deal for the employees of the reseller store he works at, were I can get a MBP15 with Retina Display, with interest rates at 1% over the next three years. It comes only with 8 gigs of ram which bumps me out, and not having all the wonders of haswell - faster CPU, GPU, integrated GPU, new wifi standards and all that.

The problem is that this opportunity, is only for a few more days so I need to make a decision.