a hackintosh of sorts if ya like. will this set up work with my mac mini??

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by MWPULSE, Apr 30, 2009.

  1. MWPULSE macrumors 6502a

    MWPULSE

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #1
    Hi there guys, sometime over the summer im planning on upgrading all the user upgradable elements of my mac mini (late 06 model) 1.66ghz 1gb ram, 100 gig HD.

    After doing some research, it would appear that the T7700
    (seen here, on aria http://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Comp...bile+T7700+-+2.40GHz+-+Retail?productId=29556) would work.. but previously i have found that the T7500 would work as well..

    What do you guys reckon? would either one work.. the fsb speed is different.. as is the cache size, but the model type etc is the same, same socket type etc.. what should i do??

    im also looking to get new ram, which i have sorted.. the complicated one, is the HD.. what would you recommend for a HD for a macmini, i would prefer to keep the DVD drive, so i guess that means a 2;5 but which one???

    Cheers in advance

    Pete
     
  2. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #2
    No. That is a socket P processor. You need a socket M one. T7600 is the fastest one (2.33GHz).

    To maximize the value of your mini. Max the RAM (2GB). Find a FAST hard drive for $50-$60 (250GB 7200RPM, say). And HUNT for a T7200 (about $100-$130 on eBay).
     
  3. MWPULSE thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MWPULSE

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #3
    aaaah my bad, i just realised as i was searching the aria site.. that in fact it was socket P.. (after i had left this comment). how fast is the T7200 upto? i already have the 1.66 CDC not the Core 2.. I was thinking that the Samsung F1 HD is fast enough for my liking, but i think its 3.5 not 2.5 which is what i need correct???

    cheers
    Pete
     
  4. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #4
    You need a 9mm 2.5" SATA drive. The T7200 is currently the best value. It runs at 2GHz and since its a Core 2 Duo, you should see about a 40% or more improvement in CPU performance over the 1.66GHz Core Duo. There is also a T7400 2.16GHz Core 2 Duo.
     
  5. MWPULSE thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MWPULSE

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #5
    I think the T7400 is the one that i originally researched 3 months ago.. i dont know where T7500 came from! was the first thing that came up in google i guess..

    Anyways. i will probably go with the fastest, im not really looking for the best price/speed ratio. its more an experiment than anything.. im primarily going to be using this machine for a bit of audio recording, and front row. Thats about it, i have already trimmed the OS in certain parts, getting rid of Adobe for instance, and alot of the crap that really isnt needed!

    Have you got any recommendations in HDs that i can look at? im a bit stuck as far as that goes really..

    Me changing the CPU and HD wont change the RAM right? cos the RAM is presumably reliant on the Bus speed, which wont(cant) be changed.

    http://www.crucial.com/store/listpa...Intel Core Duo - 1.66GHz)&pl=Mac mini&cat=RAM

    thats the ram im looking at getting.. 11 quid/15 dollars a shot cant really go wrong!!

    Cheers
    Pete
     
  6. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #6
    Depends how much space you need. You could pick up a Seagate 160GB 7200RPM for about £40.

    Amazon has the Momentus drive that I use in my MacBook for £60. http://www.amazon.co.uk/Seagate-OEM...?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1241139284&sr=1-15

    The RAM looks fine and will definitely give you a speed boost. If you want a T7600, they are about £150+ on eBay or about twice the price of a T7200 for about a 16% speed improvement.
     
  7. MWPULSE thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MWPULSE

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Location:
    London
  8. MWPULSE thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MWPULSE

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #8
    on a further note. I just noticed that my Mac Mini in fact only has a DVD-R burner, would i be able to upgrade this to a DVD-RW of some description. It would be really handed if i could burn DVDs easier from in the Macmini, if not its not particularly an issue i went and bought a Lacie FW/USB DVD Drive- it burns and reads everything under the sun i think!

    Cheers PTP:apple:
     
  9. polya80 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA
    #9
    how much are all these upgrades gonna cost u?

    might be better off buying a new mac mini?
     

Share This Page