A hard issue for me and I need some advice on what to do...

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by BryceE, Jan 19, 2010.

1. BryceE macrumors newbie

A bit of background...

I work as a video editor and my boss has given me a iMac, eMac and the recording equipment to do the job, but they're all older (white iMac, etc). I was looking at buying the Mac Pro, as in my opinion any other Macs are just not worth it, and I'd like to be able to add/remove hardware as I need it such as video cards, hard drives, etc. Now, I was talking to my dad about it and he says I should ask my boss to help with it. Why on earth would my boss do that is what I responded with. Is it right to ask him or what? He told me what's it going to hurt to ask. He could say no and fire me right? But would he? I'm so clueless. My boss has told me countless times the work I do is perfect, so I don't know.

I was looking at the payment plans on Apple's site and for a Dual Xeon Mac Pro, 8gb RAM, 2x gfx cards, and the protection plan, it comes to $3700 roughly after shipping/tax. What kind of monthly price would I be paying for that and can you pay it off sooner or what? And should I just ask my boss to help me get it or just lay off that and ignore what my dad says about it? I'd really like to have one and I feel that I could get more work done on it because of the quad monitor capacity it'll bring. I'm very good at multitasking.

I just don't know what to do. Just not say anything and go forward with the Apple payment plan or what?

2. MacDawg macrumors P6

MacDawg

Buying technology on an extended payment plan is almost always a bad bet

Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]

3. BryceE thread starter macrumors newbie

4. redAPPLE macrumors 68030

redAPPLE

i think depending on the amount of work the company has, you could convince your boss to invest on new hardware.