A little confused?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Tadros86, Mar 19, 2008.

  1. Tadros86 macrumors 6502

    Tadros86

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #1
    So I am on the AT&T website looking at the iPhone page and I read this "In order to use data such as email, Google Maps, YouTube videos and web browsing, AT&T recommends using iPhone in a 3G or EDGE Network (coverage viewer), or from a local Wi-Fi connection. " Why would they suggest using the iPhone in 3G area if the iPhone doesn't use 3G?

    I read on another thread that an AT&T worker had said that 3G is just like a software update? I doubt it, but why would they suggest using 3G? I really really doubt it being in the iPhone already and no one noticed, and I doubt AT&T are pointing to an upgraded iPhone. Typo maybe?
     
  2. mr.stinki macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #2
    Yeah, it's a typo. The iPhone doesn't have the 3G chips it needs to access the 3G network.
     
  3. question fear macrumors 68020

    question fear

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    The "Garden" state
    #3
    Yea that sounds like someone cut n pasted the general AT&T boilerplate on there.
     
  4. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #4
    The webpage is iPhone specific...

    but the "coverage map" is for ALL phones. AT&T has non-iPhones that operate on the 3G network, (indicated in the BLUE Shaded areas). AT&T has 3G available in many areas, and several phones are already operating on 3G as we speak. Check out:

    http://www.wireless.att.com/learn/why/technology/3g-umts.jsp

    It explains the 3G enhancements. :cool:
     
  5. Tadros86 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Tadros86

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #5

    Ok, I never said it wasn't for all phones. I am wondering why they would suggest to use the iPhone in 3G areas if the iPhone can't take advantage of 3G. Not like it says "AT&T suggests using your cell in 3G and EDGE areas," it says iPhone. Be pretty awesome if they knew something we didn't know, update wise.
     
  6. kdarling macrumors demi-god

    kdarling

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Location:
    Cabin by a lake
    #6
    It's because an EDGE phone can work in a 3G area, since the 3G areas will drop back to EDGE.

    Thus their wording: the phone works in 3G or EDGE areas.
     
  7. oldimac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    #7
    I don't have an iPhone yet but....

    In the REAL world is 3G that much faster? I know the specs, but is the iPhone without 3G that much slower than a sony or noka on 3G? :rolleyes:
     
  8. myphone macrumors 6502

    myphone

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    A little bit faster than Edge but Wifi is still faster than 3G.
     

Share This Page