A Month of Back and Forth on the Macbook Pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by FrakkinShip, Nov 9, 2014.

1. FrakkinShip macrumors member

As the title suggests, I have spent the better part of a month going back and forth on getting a Macbook Pro. Well, the issue is that I am not sure what to get. Here are my reasons for going with a Mac and the problems I'm having with the decision on what to get.

1. I am a photographer as a hobbyist and my four year old Dell PC is on its last leg. Batch editing is possible, but it isn't efficient.

2. Any PC equivalent (like Dell's ultrabook) has Windows 8.1 and a touchscreen. I have no use for either I can't stand windows 8.1.

3. I've been itching for a retina display. I think the displays on Macbooks are exquisite and something I think would be beneficial with photo editing.

Problems:

1. I am positive that the Iris Pro GPU will suffice for the type of editing that I do. 99.999999% of my edits consist of dodging, burning, healing, black and white conversion, and Google's Nik Collection. There is no graphic designing. I want to be reassured that I do not need a dedicated GPU.

2. The 15" base model is what I am eying, but the 256gb SSD makes me wary. I plan on buying a 2tb USB 3.0 external HDD to compensate for this lack of space. If I go for the 512gb option, I may as well get the 15" with the Nvidia card. But I really don't want to spend $2300+.

Given my needs, what would be the better option? Feel free to ask me questions and thanks for the help.

2. andeify macrumors 6502

andeify

You could get the cheaper option and wait for OWC to release an SSD upgrade

3. duffyanneal, Nov 9, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2014

duffyanneal macrumors 6502a

duffyanneal

I would recommend the base model and get the external drive. If you still feel you need more internal storage you could always pick up a 512 GB SSD from eBay. It seems there are a lot of people swapping drives that way.