A New Beginning

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Nachi, Sep 15, 2011.

1. Nachi macrumors newbie

Nachi

Well I know all of you have heard this story before, this will be my first transition from PC to :apple:. I’m a full blown Windows user and could deal with all the issues that came with it. I’m also a student majoring in Illustration and Graphic Design and my school has half Mac and half PC computers, which I work with them both. But when I first came to my school 2 years ago I was really blown away:eek: by the iMacs. The last time I was on a Mac was in Elementary School, so it was a whole new experience. So after months of saving up and research I think that I’m making the right decision. I’m going to purchase my first Macbook Pro 17inch online on the apple store.:D

Here are my Specifications; I wanted to know if the 128 GB SSD is a good choice because I was going to get an OWC SSD to replace the optical bay. I will upgrade to 8GB ram soon, but for now is that good enough.

• 2.2GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7
    • 4GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2X2GB
    • 128GB Solid State Drive
    • SuperDrive 8x (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW)
    • MacBook Pro 17-inch Hi-Resolution Glossy Widescreen Display
    • Backlit Keyboard (English) & User's Guide

2. jinnyman macrumors member

gratz!!
    I do have the same mbp.
    However, are you ok with the glossy screen? Cuz you will be doing illustration and such. I personally like glossy ones so I went with stock 17 mbp.

3. Xcallibur macrumors 6502a

Xcallibur

Just bear in mind that 128GB isn't a massive amount of storage for a graphics designer. I've made pretty big graphics files in the past and 128GB stuffed with all them files wont last that long. Depends on the person though :cool:

4. Nachi thread starter macrumors newbie

Nachi