A question about tabbing between selections

Discussion in 'macOS' started by fongyuen, Oct 1, 2008.

  1. fongyuen macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #1
    [​IMG]

    i have a simple question about the use of the tab button when a window pops up with 2 selections, such as the example above. when i hit the tab button, a blue selection outline will jump over to the other button, in this case, "Add", but if i hit return, it'll still select "Don't Add". this makes the tab pretty useless. what do i need to do so that i can select the other button without my hands leaving the keyboard to go to the mouse? thanks.
     
  2. pit29 macrumors 6502a

    pit29

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Location:
    The Golden State
    #2
    Hmmm... Maybe you can use Apple-A? I wanted to test this on my computer, but, funny thing is, it looks different here (15.5.5):

    (Sorry, just saw that you wanted to ADD an extension, but I tried to CHANGE one... That'll explain the difference.)
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Mal macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #3
    The blue button means if you hit enter, it will be selected (the default choice). To choose the option with the blue outline, press the space bar. I do that all the time.

    jW
     
  4. sukanas macrumors 6502a

    sukanas

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #4
    OOOH
    THANK YOU!
    but why space bar only -_-...
    why couldn't make the enter key work too?
     
  5. fongyuen thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #5
    space bar....nice! thanks bro.
     

Share This Page