A question about using a Time Capsule with my MBP.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ozziegn, Aug 8, 2009.

  1. ozziegn macrumors 6502a

    ozziegn

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Central FL Area
    #1
    I'm thinking aboiut getting a 1TB Time Capsule to use as my main backup source. I understand the TC also doubles as a wireless router for either cable or DSL.

    my (dumb) question is this: can I use the TC as a wireless backup hard drive and continue to use my current wireless router? if so, how hard or easy is this to set up w/o it acting as a wireless router?

    I'm thinking so but I want to make sure.
     
  2. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #2
    Yes. I believe you can use the network while it's backing up wirelessly.
     
  3. shambo macrumors 6502a

    shambo

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    #3
    When you set it up just add the TC to your existing network.

    Simples.
     
  4. MattZani macrumors 68030

    MattZani

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Connect the TC to your router via Ethernet.

    Connect to your TC for wireless.

    All is well (Y)

    Aslong as they are all on the same network, the MBP will be able to see the TC.
     
  5. xpovos macrumors 6502a

    xpovos

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    Tennessee
    #5
    Be prepared for the strong possibility of extremely slow wireless backups (even the incremental ones) and a lot of error dialogs.

    Some claim no problems. For me, Time Capsule has been a disaster since I bought it shortly after it first came out. I've given up on it four times and am now just using it as a wireless router.
     

Share This Page