MP 1,1-5,1 A question for Mac Pro 2,1 and 1,1 owners about Windows and Linux installation

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by arkieboy72472, Jan 12, 2019.

  1. arkieboy72472 macrumors member

    arkieboy72472

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    #1
    for any 1,1 or 2,1 owners who have windows 7-10 or Linux only on their old Mac Pro, how does it run? Was installation hard? Does everything work? If you also have wireless and Bluetooth built in, does that work also? How big of a hard drive will it detect size wise? Does it see dual processors and all the ram?

    Which distro of linux worked the best or was easiest to install?
     
  2. Sko macrumors 6502

    Sko

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Location:
    Germany
    #2
    Windows 10 runs great on my 1,1 after getting it to boot in AHCI mode. Before that it was a pain on HDD, with an SSD it probably wouldn't matter. For the initial W7 install I had to modify the .iso to be bootable. W10 installed hassle free on top of that. I then installed the original OEM drivers where possible (Intel for chipset/network, Realtek for audio, AMD for graphics).

    Additional drivers were a different thing, to be honest I lost track of which and how many Bootcamp drivers I tried to install, mostly for Apple keyboard and Cinema Display (volume and brightness controls), and what method I used. It was a mix of pointing Hardware Manager to drivers, running single .msi normally or as administrator or using cmd.exe.

    Wifi doesn't work with Apple drivers, I had to install some third party driver for an HP or Acer branded laptop. Bluetooth doesn't work with Apple's Magic Mouse, don't know if it works at all, I don't have other Bluetooth devices.

    I use this for games only, I'm impressed with what this machine is still capable of with a R9 280X.

    So quite a journey. Now that I think about it, maybe I'll do it again from scratch just for the fun of it and to streamline the process ;)
     
  3. arkieboy72472 thread starter macrumors member

    arkieboy72472

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    #3
    So, I am installing 7 and THEN 10? I don't think I have ever done a direct upgrade one on top of the other. That will be new for me. At what point do I do the AHCI change and why? I plan on using a SSD. Did you use windows update for the drivers or did you use some driver site?

    I also take it internal wifi and bluetooth was not something you tried to get going?

    I wonder if I should boot it up with the El Cap install and use system info to make note of what parts are what so as to find drivers.

    It looks like hrutkey mods has a few videos on everything. I am not finding much on the post install process for drivers and compatibility.

    My goal is to make it a media and file server.
     
  4. Sko macrumors 6502

    Sko

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Location:
    Germany
    #4
    I think you can go with W10 directly. At the time I installed W7 usb booting wasn't that much of a thing with Windows if I remember correctly, I had to create a CD. I suppose it's working fine know.

    AHCI has advanced features and is much faster than PATA/IDE mode. You have to patch the MBR and some entries in the registry. You can do that any time you like after initial install.

    I did use Windows Update for drivers except for the few I mentioned which I download from the original manufacturer. Only for the WiFi I ended up on mostly obscure driver sites with tons of unwanted downloads and live update installers and what not. Wifi is definitely working, but Bluetooth I don't know.

    For a file server, you just need a minimum driver configuration I guess, and standard Windows 10 install should take care of that. Maybe add original graphics driver for transcoding in Plex or the like.
     
  5. Zeke D macrumors 65816

    Zeke D

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Location:
    Arizona
    #5
    I installed win7 on my 1,1 without issue. It’s running dual quads, 16gb ram, and an ATI X1900. I’m running win7 on a 250gb WD enterprise drive, and the other three slots are Apple-branded 1tb drives ive pulled from various iMacs. Boot camp 4 had all the drivers I needed. I use it for recording and editing audio, and writing news stories. It runs just fine as a shoutcast server, and lighttpd for web hosting.
     
  6. arkieboy72472 thread starter macrumors member

    arkieboy72472

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    #6
    Do the other 2 SATA drive slots work ok? What about things like wireless and bluetooth?
     
  7. hwojtek macrumors 65816

    hwojtek

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Poznan, Poland
    #7
    Win10 in legacy mode, fairly easy, didn't bother to enable AHCI.

    Used https://github.com/timsutton/brigadier to download Bootcamp 6 drivers for Windows 10, my R9 280X runs with current ATI drivers. My CinemaDisplay, magic mouse and apple keyboard work just like in MacOS. The only detail was that I had to install an earlier (Bootcamp 5?) Boot Camp Control Panel in order to comfortably reboot back into MacOS.

    One funny thing, though... while running Windows, the sound from the rear analogue audio port is muted (I can much better hear the sound from the headphones connected to the front port). I have to physically tilt the jack in the socket a bit and then it starts playing. This does not happen in MacOS though. Bizarre.
     
  8. Zeke D macrumors 65816

    Zeke D

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Location:
    Arizona
    #8
    Yeah, for win7, the wireless and Bluetooth are included in bootcamp6. The “hidden” SATA ports work just fine, I routed a pair of low-profile right-angle SATA cables into the optical bay for a SATA optical drive, and a SATA DOM.
     
  9. arkieboy72472 thread starter macrumors member

    arkieboy72472

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    #9
    So do I use bootcamp 4 or 5 or 6? what is the differences?
     
  10. Zeke D macrumors 65816

    Zeke D

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Location:
    Arizona
    #10
    I used BC6.0, but I had to get a driver or two from BC4. The major difference is the supported hardware.
     
  11. jdasikainen macrumors 6502

    jdasikainen

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Location:
    Bald Knob Arkansas
    #11
    i no longer have my 1,1 pro but i remeber having to run a tool to modify windows isos to boot on the 1,1 since it had no usb booting same with linux diffrent processes though never did the wifi but once they were up and running they ran great i had a gtx 970 in mine at the time and i played modern games streamed to twitchand everything this was the base 2 2.66ghz cpu model 1,1 with 8gb 667 MHZ ddr2
     
  12. thomasthegps macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2015
    Location:
    France
    #12
    If I had that mac I would install kubuntu or fedora/archlinux with the kde plasma user interface. The reason why I'm recommending linux is because it has all sorts of drivers in the kernel by default. On old hardware like the 5,1 mac pro or older you probably won't need to install a single driver. Everything will most likely be supported OOTB, that includes ethernet, sound, bluetooth, wifi, dvd drive, GPU if you have AMD and so on...

    Usually open source drivers for older hardware in linux are much better than the old unmaintained ones under windows.
    Another advantage is you don't have to worry about linux ever dropping support for your mac pro.
    Frankly you would get better support and if you choose a distro like fedora or kubuntu getting your mac pro 3,1 up and running would probably be a lot easier than having to hack windows 10 on it...
     

Share This Page

11 January 12, 2019