A retina screen on a non-pro model

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by ByteTheBooty, Mar 30, 2015.

1. ByteTheBooty macrumors regular

Ive always hated the display of my 13 MBA. I remember a couple of posts I wrote a couple of post (on my old account) about a buying a pro and I remember that famous reply that I heard so many times: "you dont need a retina screen, you dont do professional work". (am I the only one who ever head this saying?)

What do you guys think having a Retina screen on a "low" end model?

Does anyone actually think it is a waste of pixels or something?? Im just wondering because I always wanted a Pro for the screen and always told myself that I didn't need it since im not a professional and convinced myself that I didn't need a retina screen (even though I really want one)...

2. imoxja macrumors newbie

That's kinda what they just made with the MacBook... But wanting a retina display isn't about being professional or being casual - it's about not wanting your eyes to bleed when they drag across the jagged text.

3. kingofwale macrumors 6502a

kingofwale

macbook has way too many compromises.

if Apple released a retina version of MBA 13, I'd buy it in a heart-beat

4. noobinator macrumors 601

Better screens are better for doing everything on a laptop not just doing "professional" things. Movies, documents, spreadsheets, and pictures of your kids look better.

5. PDFierro macrumors 68040

A Retina screen is absolutely necessary, even for non-professionals. Consumers see a huge benefit in it. Look at how many people switched from the Air to the Pro just for the screen.

I wouldn't be getting the new MacBook if it didn't have Retina. The thing is, the Air doesn't just not have Retina but it also has a crappy TN panel. I think some people would be satisfied with a good IPS panel.

6. iRun26.2, Mar 30, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2015

iRun26.2 macrumors 68000