a vertical thin red line on my screen

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by zoran, Nov 9, 2014.

  1. zoran, Nov 9, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2014

    zoran macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #1
    I have a thin vertical red line crossing my MBPros screen from top to bottom. When i make a screenshot it is not viewable, might it be burned pixels?
     
  2. definitive macrumors 68000

    definitive

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    #2
    has something to do with graphics - either gpu, cable connecting to the lcd, or the inverter. don't think the lcd would cause that, but that's a possibility as well.
     
  3. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
  4. sebseb macrumors 6502

    sebseb

    Joined:
    May 24, 2014
    #4
    Which MBP do you have? 15" or 13"? and year model?
     
  5. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #5
    Its the 15" 2.4Ghz Core2Duo (silver buttons)
     
  6. andeify macrumors 6502

    andeify

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    That's a 2008 machine or older, its had a good run
     
  7. sebseb macrumors 6502

    sebseb

    Joined:
    May 24, 2014
    #7
    That year only has one graphics card, the GT 8600M. In 2009 they put 2 graphics card, to save energy! But the advantage is that if one card burns or starts causing problems, you can switch between them! I own a 2010 MBP and the intel graphics doesn't work that well so I have it using the dedicated.

    I wanted to see if we can change the graphics card and see if it's the screen or the chip! I think it's either the cable or the graphics chip!
     
  8. wytwolf macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    #8
    I wouldn't say one can just switch between the GPU's if one burns out. Ask any 2010 or 2011 MBP user with a dead dedicated GPU (myself included). Generally the system will do a self test on boot up which results in a fault start due to the dead AMD/Nvidia GPU chip.
     
  9. sebseb macrumors 6502

    sebseb

    Joined:
    May 24, 2014
    #9

    well his graphics isnt completely burnt (if the red line is due to the graphics), so if he starts up his computer, the graphics wont give an issue and he can switch by either turning off switching which will force the computer to use dedicated or he can download the FXgraphics apps and do it manually there.
     
  10. cjmillsnun macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    #10
    The Nvidia 8600GT is known for failure. However I don't think that it is the case this time.

    My suspicion is either a bad connection or a failing display.

    That said, it's an early '08 machine, and something else will probably break on it soon.
     

Share This Page