A way to test AirPlay?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by BanterClaus, Oct 10, 2011.

  1. BanterClaus macrumors regular

    BanterClaus

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Hey there,

    I'm thinking about purchasing an apple tv (second generation) however I'm anxious AirPlay won't work with my setup. See ive never been able to get the remote app working or home sharing working through my setup. Basically i would just like to know if AirPlay is likely to work based on the fact my other apple wireless attempts never? Also would there be a way for me to test this? I probably sound like a complete idiot here but I dont know much about this stuff. Thanks in advance :)
     
  2. DustinT macrumors 68000

    DustinT

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #2
    It should work fine if you have supported hardware. If not, take it back.
     
  3. MarkG21 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    #3
    Can you explain your problems of not getting home share to work?
     
  4. rodman109110 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    #4
    I had issues with the remote app when it was first released. I had to set the firewall to allow iTunes to accept incoming connections. This was on a macbook pro a couple of years ago.
     
  5. BanterClaus thread starter macrumors regular

    BanterClaus

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Basically the problem I had with remote and homesharing is that it just refuses to load the library. It finds it fine but then just infinitely connects. Ive tried this on my windows PC's with no luck also. Firewalls have all been set to allow incoming connections to iTunes and I've even tried manually opening ports in my router CP. Ive also tried all the basic stuff like resetting the iPods and iPhone and reinstalling the app and my devices are definitely on the same wireless network. I would have thought my router is compatible as I've run a lot more complex stuff such as Minecraft servers through it.

    So anybody any idea on why this refuses to work? Does my router just hate Apple :(?
     
  6. DustinT macrumors 68000

    DustinT

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #6
    What router do you have?
     
  7. BanterClaus thread starter macrumors regular

    BanterClaus

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Its a draytek. It should be supported I already checked.
     
  8. reebzor macrumors 6502a

    reebzor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #8
    Buy AppleTV or Airport Express. Test.

    If it doesn't work out, return it.
     
  9. DustinT macrumors 68000

    DustinT

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #9
    Ya, I suspect some of the sophistication of your router is causing the problems. I'm going to agree with the poster who suggested trying a new router.
     
  10. BanterClaus thread starter macrumors regular

    BanterClaus

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    Thanks for the advice guys. I will probably just buy a new router then. Im fed up of the problems this one is causing.
     

Share This Page