a weird question to ask about mac & pc

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by mrgreeneyes, Oct 26, 2008.

  1. mrgreeneyes macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    Orleans,Canada
    #1
    ok here is my problem:

    i have a pc that is running Vista Home Basic.
    and i have a macbook pro. running mac os X.

    i want them to connect to each other to transfer files and such.

    how do i do it?

    also is it possible to connect the pc and macbook directly by ethernet?

    like just connect the ethernet cable into the same ports on both machines and allow them to connect to each other? is that possible?


    thanks,
     
  2. vorkorsigan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto
    #2
    Sharing

    If you set up the Mac & PC to share files, sharing in system Preferences for the mac - in the control panel for Vista, you should see the two systems in the Shared / Network displays receptively. You can transfer via the shared folders.
     
  3. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #3
    You can do this but you need a special ethernet cable. Usually you connect through a bridge or router. when I was working we had to do the direct pc-pc and we had to make an ethernet cable with 2 wires reversed. There's a send and receive wire, and a straight cable would give one pc's send side to the other pc's send side, which doesn't work, obviously.
     
  4. mrgreeneyes thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    Orleans,Canada
    #4
    in vista how do i set up the sharing folder?

    i dont see anything in the control panel.

    same thing for mac
     
  5. mrgreeneyes thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    Orleans,Canada
    #5
    EDIT:

    i found the sharing for the mac and for vista.

    but the two machines do not see each other.
     
  6. vorkorsigan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto
    #6
    In OS X open the system preferences from your dock. Sharing is under Internet & Network, look for the folder icon with a yellow diamond. Once in sharing you can see file sharing on the left side. Tick the box and set access rights.

    For Vista, it's in control panel somewhere but I need to check.

    when you get in open finder and you should see the PC in shared, if not check it is not blocked by the firewall.
     
  7. cherry su macrumors 65816

    cherry su

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #7
    1. you can use a regular ethernet cable to connect both machines
    2. in the mac, go to the Finder
    3. hit command-k
    4. type in smb://${YOUR_VISTA_MACHINE_NAME}/ into the text field (replace ${YOUR_VISTA_MACHINE_NAME} with the vista machine's name found in control panel
    5. the mac should ask you for user credentials
    6. enter your vista login & password
    7. you should see the contents of the Public folder in your vista machine
     
  8. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
  9. mrgreeneyes thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    Orleans,Canada
    #9
    ok so, i got to the part where i have to enter my vista username and password.
    then it asks me what i want to mount, i choose the folder, but then it tells me it cannot mount it.
     
  10. mrgreeneyes thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    Orleans,Canada
    #10
    if i get a crossover ethernet cable, do i have to do anything special on my pc and macbook to have them see eachother amd share files?
     
  11. notsofatjames macrumors 6502a

    notsofatjames

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #11
    I was always under the impression that a crossover cable was not required. Modern computers can tell when its supposed to be "crossing over" and just switch the way that the port works.

    I get vista and OS X to share files without a problem, its easier to find the vista machine from OS X, rather than looking for OS X from Vista... if that makes sense. Sorry i cant be much help.
     
  12. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #12
    Guess I haven't kept up with all the changes in the last few years. It used to be you needed crossover.
     
  13. SmurfBoxMasta macrumors 65816

    SmurfBoxMasta

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    I'm only really here at night.
    #13


    whooooshhhhhh............................










    ps....that was the sound of progress, zipping by you @near light speed :eek: :D
     
  14. mrgreeneyes thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    Orleans,Canada
    #14
    how i do make my vista machine viewable on my mac?

    i bought a crossover cable, and plugged it into both, my vista machine and mac.
    but i dont know what to do next.
     
  15. 87vert macrumors 6502

    87vert

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #15

    You would need to assign a static IP on the same subnet for both computers. IE the pc would be 192.168.1.2 and the mac 192.168.1.3

    This can be done in the system perferences on the mac and control panel on the Vista box.
     

Share This Page