A1181 White Mac

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by -ASH-, Jun 11, 2013.

  1. -ASH- macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    #1
    Hi Guy's,

    I have just received a macbook A1181 as part of a clearance.

    It has no keyboard or top case (where the power button is attached) and was just wondering if I can plug it into a power supply & if there is any way I could power it up to test without the top case? (the screen is attached and plugged in).

    Would like to know if the motherboard & screen is OK (screen is intact)
    Thanks in advance

    ASH
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    Depending on which version you have, there should be two little pads somewhere on the logicboard you have to short for it to connect. These pads differ between models and not all have them.
     
  3. -ASH- thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    #3
    Brilliant.. Thanks for the quick reply..

    How can I find out if mine has this & where abouts do I look?

    Many thanks

    ASH
     
  4. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #4
    You'd have to first find out which Macbook you have. Apple sold the A1181 for a few years, each with a different internal layout. I know for my Macbook, it's near the fan. The pads are two silver squares about 2-3 millimeters square and 2 millimeters apart.
     
  5. -ASH- thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    #5
    According to the bottom, it's a 2007.

    Thanks

    ASH
     
  6. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #6
    What are the first five characters of its serial number?
     
  7. -ASH- thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    #7
    This might sound thick, but where can I find the serial number?

    Thanks

    ASH
     
  8. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
  9. -ASH- thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    #9
    No sticker inside the battery compartment.. or anywhere that I can see..

    Trust me to get the bloody awkward one..

    ASH
     
  10. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #10
    It's a big sticker, about 2x3 inches. It has images on it of how to replace the ram. Grey with white lettering.
     
  11. -ASH- thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    #11
    No Mate.. I'm assuming that it's been removed (for some reason)
     
  12. -ASH- thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    #12
    Right.. I've found it.. (as you said, right by the fan)..

    Just a quick question now then..

    I have no ram installed & no CD drive, should it still make the chime noise?

    I have got it so it powers up (nothing on the screen, but does flash) and the white light is illuminated on the front..

    Thanks again

    ASH
     
  13. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
  14. -ASH- thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    #14
    What ram will work with it?

    I think i'v got some knocking around off some windows laptops (if they'll do)??

    Thanks

    ASH
     
  15. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #15
    They take PC2-5300 running at 667Mhz. Macbooks of that era don't like faster running ram than 667Mhz.
     
  16. -ASH- thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    #16
    Got one... now i've just put it in, plugged the power supply in and powered it up & the screen flashed, the white power light came on, then the screen flashed again and the white light went off but the fan is constantly running..

    I guess the logic board is buggered.. What do you think??

    ASH
     
  17. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
  18. iDutchman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Location:
    Amsterdam, NL
    #18
    Connect an external keyboard and do a PRAM reset (Press P+R + option + command). A SMC reset might help.

    The fact that it turns on including the screen with a white background is good.

    You can try to turn it on, connect the keyboard beforehand and press 'alt or option'. When you do this, it should show the little arrow and you should come into a boot menu.

    When it does this successfully, the logicboard is not finished.
     
  19. -ASH- thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    #19
    Brilliant.. The only keyboard that I have is a windows USB one.. What button corresponds to the command & option keys??

    Thanks
     
  20. iDutchman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Location:
    Amsterdam, NL
    #20
    I think this is your answer:

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5636

    Just press 'alt' on the Windows keyboard to be able to do the same as you would with alt/option on the Mac keyboard.

    Holding ALT at bootup should trigger the MacBook to enter the boot menu.
     

Share This Page