A1181 White Mac

-ASH-

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 5, 2012
21
0
Hi Guy's,

I have just received a macbook A1181 as part of a clearance.

It has no keyboard or top case (where the power button is attached) and was just wondering if I can plug it into a power supply & if there is any way I could power it up to test without the top case? (the screen is attached and plugged in).

Would like to know if the motherboard & screen is OK (screen is intact)
Thanks in advance

ASH
 

Intell

macrumors P6
Jan 24, 2010
18,881
368
Inside
Depending on which version you have, there should be two little pads somewhere on the logicboard you have to short for it to connect. These pads differ between models and not all have them.
 

-ASH-

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 5, 2012
21
0
Brilliant.. Thanks for the quick reply..

How can I find out if mine has this & where abouts do I look?

Many thanks

ASH
 

Intell

macrumors P6
Jan 24, 2010
18,881
368
Inside
You'd have to first find out which Macbook you have. Apple sold the A1181 for a few years, each with a different internal layout. I know for my Macbook, it's near the fan. The pads are two silver squares about 2-3 millimeters square and 2 millimeters apart.
 

-ASH-

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 5, 2012
21
0
This might sound thick, but where can I find the serial number?

Thanks

ASH
 

-ASH-

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 5, 2012
21
0
No sticker inside the battery compartment.. or anywhere that I can see..

Trust me to get the bloody awkward one..

ASH
 

Intell

macrumors P6
Jan 24, 2010
18,881
368
Inside
It's a big sticker, about 2x3 inches. It has images on it of how to replace the ram. Grey with white lettering.
 

-ASH-

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 5, 2012
21
0
No Mate.. I'm assuming that it's been removed (for some reason)
 

-ASH-

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 5, 2012
21
0
Right.. I've found it.. (as you said, right by the fan)..

Just a quick question now then..

I have no ram installed & no CD drive, should it still make the chime noise?

I have got it so it powers up (nothing on the screen, but does flash) and the white light is illuminated on the front..

Thanks again

ASH
 

-ASH-

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 5, 2012
21
0
What ram will work with it?

I think i'v got some knocking around off some windows laptops (if they'll do)??

Thanks

ASH
 

Intell

macrumors P6
Jan 24, 2010
18,881
368
Inside
They take PC2-5300 running at 667Mhz. Macbooks of that era don't like faster running ram than 667Mhz.
 

-ASH-

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 5, 2012
21
0
Got one... now i've just put it in, plugged the power supply in and powered it up & the screen flashed, the white power light came on, then the screen flashed again and the white light went off but the fan is constantly running..

I guess the logic board is buggered.. What do you think??

ASH
 

iDutchman

macrumors 6502a
May 9, 2010
676
27
Amsterdam, NL
Got one... now i've just put it in, plugged the power supply in and powered it up & the screen flashed, the white power light came on, then the screen flashed again and the white light went off but the fan is constantly running..

I guess the logic board is buggered.. What do you think??

ASH
Connect an external keyboard and do a PRAM reset (Press P+R + option + command). A SMC reset might help.

The fact that it turns on including the screen with a white background is good.

You can try to turn it on, connect the keyboard beforehand and press 'alt or option'. When you do this, it should show the little arrow and you should come into a boot menu.

When it does this successfully, the logicboard is not finished.
 

-ASH-

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 5, 2012
21
0
Brilliant.. The only keyboard that I have is a windows USB one.. What button corresponds to the command & option keys??

Thanks