ABC Player Stream Quality

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Battlestar, May 12, 2010.

  1. Battlestar macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Location:
    Boston
    #1
    Has anyone experienced the ABC player lessening the quality of the video stream over WiFi to the point where it is almost unwatchable and you have to quite and restart the App to get the full video quality back?
     
  2. Rooskibar03 macrumors 65816

    Rooskibar03

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Location:
    State of Denial
    #2
    To be honest, No.

    The quality has just spot on since I started using it, which was at launch.
     
  3. Battlestar thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Location:
    Boston
    #3
    The problem only happens on the updated version that they released after the 3G came out.
     
  4. sandman42 macrumors 6502a

    sandman42

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle
    #4
    I've only watched it a little, but I don't notice any quality difference over 3G. Looks perfectly good to me.
     
  5. CD3660 macrumors 68040

    CD3660

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Location:
    Cheshire, United Kingdom.
    #5
    Yes, I have found the same problem.
     
  6. musicman0725 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    #6
    Same. Before the update the quality was excellent. Now not so much. I hope they fix it in an update.
     
  7. Battlestar thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Location:
    Boston
    #7
    I would hope that the App would be able to tell whether or not it is on 3G and only degrade the signal when it is.
     
  8. CD3660 macrumors 68040

    CD3660

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Location:
    Cheshire, United Kingdom.
    #8
    Quite. It's hardly rocket science to do so.
     
  9. antiprotest macrumors 65816

    antiprotest

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
  10. Robin4 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
  11. btrav13 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #12
    I just downloaded this app and every time I launch it I get the message "Please check your connection and restart the application". Stupid ABC...
     
  12. lakshwadeep macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    #13
    This is also happening to me on my MBP, which is also using wifi. Now when I reload the page below
    http://abc.go.com/watch/lost/93372/260814/across-the-sea

    It says "sorry, we couldn't find that page". This also happening when I click on the general "watch episodes" link. It could be some problem on the part of ABC.
     
  13. khanriazaoif macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    #14
    Same
     
  14. hazmatzak macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    #15
    A few days ago, I had a stretch of maybe 30 seconds, maybe less, where it was very blocky. But I just let it play through and it recovered. It could be that whatever code is in there overcompensated for a hiccup in the wi-fi. This was with the latest version.
     

Share This Page