iPhone Aborted jailbreak traps 3g in un-restorable limbo?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by kita, Sep 5, 2012.

  1. kita macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    #1
    I have a iphone 3g from 2008 with 4.2.1. I used redsn0w to jailbreak it and at the same time I checked a box to bring the baseband from 05.15.04 to 06.15.00, which I read was necessary for unlocking. During the operation (after I saw a pineapple) the phone blacked out and on startup got stuck on the apple logo startup screen. I tried to restore her with itunes to a custom 4.2.1 but it gave me a 1604 error. After trying to restore to various ipsws and using tiny umbrella to kick out of recoveries, I've gotten a handful of different errors (1600, 1002) and no success. I'm sometimes stuck on the itunes screen, sometimes the logo, sometimes the emergency call screen. Any help for this rookie would be really appreciated, thanks!
     
  2. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #2
    Jailbreaking and flashing the iPad baseband must be done in 2 separate operations.

    Best way to restore is to download the 4.2.1 IPSW to the desktop from the iPhone Wiki, make sure your host file points to Apple, use Redsn0w to put the phone into pwnedDFU mode (a bit overkill but should insure the restore works), then use iTunes to navigate to your IPSW to install it.

    Then go here and perform the baseband downgrade (which includes flashing the iPad baseband)

    iClarified.com has tutorials
     
  3. kita thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    #3
    Thanks a lot! I don't know what making sure my host file points to apple means, but it looks like something I have to do in Terminal which requires I make a password for my computer (something I'd rather not do since Lion constantly bothers me for it). So I skipped that step and used the redsn0w Pwned DFU function (after reopening redsn0w it said my phone was in WTF mode). iTunes told me the phone was in recovery mode, so I restored it to the ipsw from the iPhone wiki, but at the end of the operation it gave me a 1002 error. So I guess I definitely have to change the host file business? Sorry for second-guessing your instructions..
     
  4. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #4
    Nope, download TinyUmbrella, Advancd Tab, uncheck set hosts file to Cydia.
    Test by typing "gs.apple.com" into browser, should take you to Apple page, not Cydia page.
     
  5. kita thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    #5
    Oh, OK. gs.apple.com took me to Cydia so I went into Tiny Umbrella 5.11.1, went into the Advanced tab, and the "Set Hosts to Cydia on Exit" box was both unchecked and grayed out. But for some reason after checking and unchecking several boxes, after closing Tiny Umbrella, gs.apple.com took me to an apple page. So, I did another Pwned DFU setup in redsnow and another iTunes restore... at the end of which I got the same error 1002. Hm. Any other thoughts?
     
  6. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #6
  7. kita thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    #7
    I updated iTunes a few days ago. My computer is a one-week-old airbook with Lion. I downloaded the ipsw file from the iPhone Wiki itself with Firefox, Chrome and Safari. I read that scary 1002 error page, but I doubt it's a hardware issue cuz there were no issues until I started this latest jailbreak jaunt (it had even been jailbroken before on an earlier OS), unless redsn0w broke my phone. I tried kicking my iPhone out of recovery mode with Tiny Umbrella, but it just was back in recovery mode according to iTunes when I opened it. It seems to always be in recovery or wtf mode.
     
  8. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #8
    If it is stuck on the emergency call screen the iOS is loaded correctly, in that state just use Redsn0w to jailbreak, during that process select activate and you should be in business.

    The iPhonewiki give 1002 error as a general restore error.

    "Error 1002
    Error when restoring."

    Try updating the Baseband first and afterwards the iOS.
    Try DFU instead of pwned-DFU.
     
  9. kita, Sep 6, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2012

    kita thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    #9
    Thanks for the advice. So, in redsn0w I selected the ipsw i downloaded from the iPhone wiki, then I clicked jailbreak. the "Install Cydia" and "Enable battery percentage" were already selected so I left them like that, and I clicked "Downgrade from iPad baseband". The program did its thing and, again, when I saw the pineapple it suddenly turned off. The progress bar on the phone's screen was about 15% done - I think it said "Flashing NOR" at that point. Then I turn the phone on again and it tells me it has no battery, even though it's been connected to the computer all day. Further attempts at start-up give me the apple logo (one time I got a progress bar on a black screen like when ur doing a firmware update) then sudden shut off again. Is this a battery problem?

    So then I tried to put it in DFU mode and restore with iTunes, but, using a 4.1 ipsw, it told me my device wasn't eligible for that firmware, so I tried a 4.2.1 and I got an error 1600 almost instantly. With a 3.1.3 it restored until the progress bar was 99% full where it hangs for 10 minutes and then finally gives me a 1002 error and back to the iTunes screen
     
  10. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #10
    As I suggested, type "gs.apple.com" where does it take you now ?
    Unless it takes you to an Apple page, you cannot restore to Apple signed firmware (for 3GS 4.1 and 5.1.1 currently)
    For restores to all other firmwares, the host file must point to Cydia and you must have some combination of hash file and APTicket file.
     
  11. kita, Sep 6, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2012

    kita thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    #11
    Hm. So even though it previously took me to an apple page, this time gs.apple.com took me to Cydia. But in Tiny Umbrella the "Set Hosts to Cydia on Exit" box was already unchecked and grayed out so I couldn't even click it if I wanted to. So instead I unchecked "Request SHSH from Cydia", so now only "Save all SHSH" and "prefer my custom device name" are checked. It took me to the apple page.
    So I did the jailbreak baseband change and when redsn0w got to the point where it says "the rest is done on your device" the iphone just sits with a glowing black screen and a small white typing cursor block icon in the top left corner.
    So I restart it (get the low power warning again), hold both buttons and then release power when black and home when iTunes recognized it and try the itunes restore again with the wiki 4.1 ipsw: Error 1002.

    By the way, Tiny Umbrella has the "Fix Recovery" button available for clicking and underneath it says "to fix the 10XX recovery loop: Enter DFU mode on the device and click Fix Recovery" - which I did but nothing changed.
     
  12. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #12
    My guess is your phone has a battery/hardware/power issue.

    Time to upgrade
     
  13. kita thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    #13
    So, no more ideas? It was working fine before redsn0w! redsn0w killed it! :( I don't have a lot of money for upgrade. What if I put a new battery in it?
     
  14. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #14
    Well redsn0w did't kill it, more not following instruction might have put it into a loop.

    If it is still pointing to cydia try DFU-restore to 4.2.1 it it still signed by apple.

    Take it from there

    What does the TU main screen tell you? Which firmware and BB?
     
  15. kita thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    #15
    Yes, let's kick it out of this loop!
    I think I've followed the instructions in several tutorials correctly, yet... here I am.

    Well, Tiny Umbrella says "This device is NOT connected", but it appears as a ?0 in the left menu. So you want gs.apple.com to lead me to Cydia? How do I change it back? I tried checking and unchecking various boxes but it still leads to apple. Curiously, after making changes, Tiny Umbrella asked me to click the "Apply Changes" button, but I don't see one on any page or in any menu.
     
  16. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
  17. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #17
    AN older version of TinyUmbrella will have the Cydia hosts file selection working. As TrueJet advised until you fix that, the restore to 4.2.1 will never work.
     
  18. kita thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    #18
    OK so I could only find TinyUmbrella 4.1 (which closed itself automatically after opening) and 4.2, which doesn't see that there is a phone connected at all, even though iTunes can recognize it.

    Checking boxes (and using the now-present "apply changes" button), and using Terminal to edit the host file (which wouldn't save the deletion of the apple 74... numbers), and using a program called Gas Mask (which did save the deletion) my Google Chrome browser still took me to the apple page with gs.apple.com.

    So then I tried Safari and IT took me to the Cydia page! So each browser behaves differently. So then I tried to restore and got a 1604 error. Hm hm hmmm..

    And just let me thank you all again for your invaluable help here. And if I can get her back to any kind of working order, jailbroken/unlocked or not, I'll consider this a success.
     
  19. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #19
  20. kita thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    #20
    OK, I used the TU you sent me, which was also missing the apply changes button. When I selected "Set hosts to Cydia" it sent both Chrome and Safari to the apple page, but when I selected "Save all available SHSH" it sent only Safari to Cydia. I tried to flush the dns cache with "sudo killall -HUP mDNSResponder" in Terminal but I don't know anything about how that works so I don't know if I was successful. Then I restarted. Then another 1604 error.

    Nobody wants to communicate by skype or anything, by any chance? I feel like I might be missing something primal, but don't have the experience to notice it. I HAVE done everything that I've been told, but maybe I haven't been doing it correctly because nothing has changed so far.
     
  21. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #21
    The apply changes button isn't missing.

    from notcom:

    "5.00.03 (comex's suggestions)

    Removed 'Apply Changes' completely
    Changes are applied as soon as you make them."

    It would help if you readup on things instead of just leaping headfirst into problems.

    Just leave the SHSH's alone, make sure you have UNCHECKED set Host to Cydia, close TU

    Error 1604 is indicating you didn't put it in pwned-DFU.
    Use redsn0w to do so.

    Either use stock 4.2.1 to restore or make a custom NO_BB IPSW and restore.

    You still haven't answered the basic questions, what does the TU main screen say? current iOS en current BB?
     
  22. kita thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    #22
    I do try to read up on things, but please don't underestimated how uninitiated I am. I really appreciate your patience.

    OK, I reinstalled TU 5.10 and it came with "Set Hosts to Cydia" already unchecked, so I just closed it.
    As I mentioned in posts 15 and 18, TU's main screen says "This device is not connected" and appears as a "?O" in the left menu (Though, in certain stages, TU 5.10 didn't register anything at all) - there is no other information that I can see - all fields are blank. I don't know what the current iOS and BB are, but before the original operation, it was a 4.2.1 iOS with 05.15.04 BB - I was trying to turn it into a jailbroken 4.2.1 with the 06.15.00 BB.

    So then i used pwned-dfu function in redsn0w.

    Used itunes to restore from a custom NO_BB IPSW, which I made with redsn0w.

    For the first time... it completed the restore without an error!!
    I was using a custom ipsw that I downloaded instead of making my own - so thanks for that help.

    However, now both iTunes and the phone itself say i need to put in a sim card (phone is on itunes screen), but there was one in there already - then after reconnecting it to iTunes, iTunes won't recognize it. So I did the whole operation again without the sim card, and then inserted it, but it didn't care.

    ...but we are getting somewhere...
     
  23. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #23
    Well

    you are almost there.

    The phone is still unactivated.

    Now it is time to jailbreak and activate the phone.

    Go into redsn0w, select jailbreak and go through the steps, don't rush!
    Have it install Cydia.
    Make sure you select to Activate the phone during the jailbreak process.

    After it finishes you should be able to access your phone.

    To continue to the next step we'll need the current iOS version and current BB, you can get it from Settings/General/Info or from TU, it should recognise the phone now.
     
  24. kita thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    #24
    OK - I'm gonna go super-slow to avoid a mistake and be double-sure.

    Question 1: When I jailbreak it this time, it says "auto-detection is not supported" so I have to choose an ipsw? Should I use a 4.2.1 restore that I downloaded from iClarified or use the custom ipsw I made earlier?

    Question 2: You say to "select to Activate" does that mean I should select "Add activation ticket"?
     
  25. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #25
    1) yes select the stock 4.2.1
    2) don't add anything, just select activate

    And dont mess with the BB, just jailbreak
     

Share This Page