??? about 12gb of ram in 2010 iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by RowdyYates, Jul 28, 2010.

  1. RowdyYates macrumors member

    RowdyYates

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    #1
    a) I assume the new 2010 iMac can handle 12gb of ram (2 X 2gb + 2 X 4gb) with no problem. Is that a correct assumption?

    b) Do the 4gb & 2gb sticks have to be installed in a particular order? (i.e. 4gb sticks in the left slots and 2gb sticks in the right) Or, just plug them into any slot and let 'er rip!

    Thx in advance.
     
  2. gbarlow macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Location:
    Ottawa, ON
    #2
    12gb is fine, it worked well in the previous generation as well. The ram is plug and play as long as you install them in matching pairs :)
     
  3. JoelMarcey macrumors 6502

    JoelMarcey

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Northern California
    #3
    I have 12GB on my recently purchased refurb and I just plugged the matching 2x4GB pair in the available slots and off we went.
     
  4. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #4
    The current and last generation iMacs support 16GB of RAM.

    The RAM sticks have to be installed in pairs I guess, 2 x 2GB left, 2 x 4GB right, or vice versa. But I'm not 100% sure, I even think it could be like this 2GB, 4GB, 4GB, 2GB or 4GB, 2GB, 2GB, 4GB.
     
  5. RowdyYates thread starter macrumors member

    RowdyYates

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    #5
    Outstanding! Thanks for the reply guys!
     
  6. dexthageek macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    #6
    As long as all sticks have the same latency you should be fine.
    I believe the CAS Latency on the 2010 iMacs is 9, and they support up to 16GB RAM (4x4GB)
     
  7. dexthageek macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    #7
    The RAM only has to be installed in pairs if you want to take advantage or the Dual-Channel feature. This would require matching pairs. However, I highly doubt you will notice a performance difference. So Just match up the CAS and you are good to go with any combination of SO-DIMMS.

    2009 iMacs: PC3-8500 - 1066Mhz
    2010 iMacs: PC3-10600 - 1333Mhz
     
  8. Vantage Point macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #8
    I had a MB and bought 4GB ram (2x2Gb) sticks and upgraded that to $GB. I then took the original 2GB from the MB (2x1Gb) and put them in the bottom two slots of my 2009 iMac to get 6GB and all worked perfectly. You should be fine

    I then sold the MB for a MBP and put the 4GB of ram into my iMac for 8GB since the MBP already had 4GB.
     
  9. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #9
    Thanks, I should have added that (Dual-Channel). But how would be the correct seating of the RAM to take advantage of Dual-Channel?

    And how is the RAM seated anyway?
     
  10. dexthageek macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    #10
    Simply install matching pairs.

    Example
    Slot 1: \
    --------| Use Matching Pair: Same Speed, Size and Latency, etc..
    Slot 2: /
    Slot 3: \
    --------| Use Matching Pair: Same Speed, Size and Latency, etc..
    Slot 4: /

    I wouldnt buy anything except
    PC3-8500 CL 7 (2009)
    PC3-10600 CL 9 (2010)

    If you stick with the above and just get matching sizes in pairs Dual-Channel will be enabled automatically. But like I said before, you do not have to do this, and I highly doubt the performance gains will be noticeable.

    iMac (2009)
    http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/memory/iMac/DDR3_21.5_27

    iMac (2010)
    http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/memory/iMac/2010/DDR3_21.5_27

    http://newegg.com usually has good prices as well.
     

Share This Page